9th Creations, The

Band members               Related acts

- Henry Anadon - sax, keyboards

- Don Way Allen - vocals, drums

- A.D. Burrise - bass, backing vocals

- J.D. Burrise - vocals, percussion

- W. Thad Bourland - trumpet, backing vocals

- Robert Clark - guitar

- Bill Ericksen - keyboards

- Laurence Holman - trumpet, flugelhorn

- Mike Michenheimer - trombone, sax, backing vocals

- Steven Rubio - sax, vocals



- none known





Genre: soul

Rating: ** (2 stars)

Title:  Falling In Love

Company: Pye

Catalog: PYE 12138

Year: 1975

Country/State: Stockton, California

Grade (cover/record): VG/VG

Comments: ring, edge and corner wear

Available: SOLD

GEMM catalog ID: SOLD

Price: SOLD


Probably due to the fact it's fairly obscure and has been sampled a couple of times, this one's recently been attracting considerable attention and fairly high prices.  While there's nothing wrong with the LP, as far as we can tell, it isn't particularly special.  (Whoops, we want to sell it ...  it's marvelous, it's great ...).


Other than they were apparently from Stockton, California (and appeared on a 1974 edition of Soul Train), we can't tell you much about this mid-'70s 10 piece band.  Entitled "Bubble Gum LP" the album was originally release by the small RiteTrack label.  The LP was quickly picked up and reissued by Pye Records, which chose to re-title it "Falling In Love" and repackage the set.  Musically the album's all over the place.  The title track (complete with some of the year's cheesiest lyrics) and "Truth, Trust, Love & Happiness" are standard love man styled ballads.  Elsewhere pseudo-jazzy horn-propelled numbers such as "Learn-n To Live" occasionally recalled BS&T, while "Quit It" could pass for Pleasure or Tower of Power outtakes.  It's all professional, but seldom particularly exciting. 


"Falling In Love" track listing:

1.) Falling In Love   (Henry Anadon - J.D. Burriss) - 6:43

2.) Bubble Gum   (Henry Anadon) - 2:12

3.) Learn-n-To Live   (Bill Eriksen) - 3:33

4.) Sexy Girl   (Dennis Grant - J.D. Burrise) - 3:23

5.) Quit It   (J.D. Burrise - Bill Eriksen - A.D. Burrise) - 2:26

6.) Truth, Trust, Love & Happiness   (Robert Clark - J.D. Burrise) - 3:31

7.) Rule of Mind   (Henry Anadon - J.D. Burriss) - 5:06

8.) Suburban Blue   (Bill Eriksen) - 3:45

9.) We Need Love   (Henry Anadon - J.D. Burriss) -3:49



Back to Bad Cat homepage/search