Assuming it was indeed a tax scam label (speculation on my part), judging by the dates for the Mandala catalog 

(1972), Robert John Gallo appears to have been a pioneer in this area, beating competitors like Dellwood, 

Guinness, and Tiger Lily to the IRS write-off punch  by some five years.

 

This isn't a label I've done a great deal of research on, but it seems unlikely that most of these artists had any

notion their work was being released.  That seems to be underscored by an email I received from a member 

of one of the bands released by Mandala:

 

"I was in the band "Mud in Your Eye" who did the album "Million" that you have shown on your page.  We 

were a band formed with myself, Barry Taylor, Ronny Altaville and John Scaduto (from Aesop's Fables) and 

Tony D'nofrio. Louis Lofredo was our manager and brought us into his studio on Long Island and gave us 

free studio time.  Bob Gallo engineered all our stuff.  As far as I knew, the stuff was never released."

Jimmi Accardi February 2011

 

 

There are also some interesting overlaps with the Guinness tax scam label.

 

- In addition to the albums on Mandala, Gallo released several solo albums on Guinness.

- Ben E. King had an album released on Guinness ("Rebirth")

- The Vibrations had an album released on Guinness ("Good Vibrations")

- Sum Pear had an album released on Guinness ("Sum Pair")

 

  Recent changes:

- February 21, 2011 added entry and photo for Mud In Your Eye "Million" LP

- February 21, 2011 added photo for Bernard Backman "Portrait of a Man" LP

- February 21, 2011 added photo for Aesop's Fables "Pickin' Up the Pieces" LP

- February 21. 2011 added photo for Don Larusso "The Best of Don Larusso" LP

- April 14, 2011 added review of  Mud In Your Eye "Million" LP

- February 23, 2012 added entry for Rainy Days (thanks to Paul Evans)

- September 23, 2012 added photo of the Rainy Days "Good Time Sunshine" LP

- September 25, 2012 added review of "A New Place To Live"

- October 12, 2012 added photo and review of Rainy Days "Good Time Sunshine" LP

- November 12, 2015 added photo of Canada LP (thanks to James Baird)

 

 

LP cover Artist   LP Title Label catalog # Year Genre

Value


Canada What's So Good About Feeling Good Mandala MANX002 1972 rock est. $200 - $300

Mud In Your Eye Million Mandala MANX-003 1972 rock SOLD $100.00

Rainy Days Good Time Sunshine Mandala MANX 004 1972 VG+ / VG+; Australian pressing $50.00

Robert John Gallo Painted Poetry Mandala MLP 3005 1972 pop est. $20 - $30

Vibrations, The Taking a New Step Mandala MLP 3006 1972 soul for sale $125.00

Ben E. King Beginning of It All Mandala MLP 3007 1972 soul for sale $40.00

Ben E. King Audio Biography Mandala MLP 3008 1972 soul est. $20 - $50

Robert John Gallo Audio Biography Mandala MLP 3009 1972 pop est. $20 - $50

Aesops Fables Pickin' Up the Pieces Mandala ST-14001 1972 VG / VG+; small punch out hole top right corner; Canadian pressing

for sale $100.00


A New Place To Live A New Place To Live Mandala SKAO 14003 1972 VG+ / VG+; gatefold sleeve $100.00

Bernard Backman Portrait of a Man Mandala 6962 1969 Christian est. $20 - $30

Sum Pear Bring Me Home America Mandala   1972 rock est. $50 - $100

Don Lorusso The Best of Don Lorusso Mandala   1972 rock est. $20 - $30

Robert John Gallo Compositions Mandala   1972 rock est. $20 - $30

Robert John Gallo I was a King Mandala   1972 rock est. $20 - $30

Patrick Norman Reunion Mandala   1972 rock est. $20 - $30

Bernard Backman Portrait of a Woman Mandala LPS-1001   folk  

 

BACK TO BADCAT TAX SCAM FRONT PAGE

BACK TO BADCAT FRONT PAGE

BACK TO BADCAT CATALOG PAGE

BACK TO BADCAT PAYMENT INFORMATION