Alexander Rabbitt

Band members               Related acts

- B. Bradbury - (1970)
- C.J. Brodowicz - (1970)
- C. Holmes - (1970)
- L. Demski - (1970)



- none known



Genre: psych

Rating: *** (3 stars)

Title:  The Hunchback of Notre Dame (The Bells Were My Friends)

Company: Mercury

Catalog: SR-61291

Year: 1969

Country/State: USA, New Jersey

Grade (cover/record): VG/VG

Comments: minor seam split top and bottom

Available: SOLD

GEMM catalog ID: SOLD

Price: SOLD

Cost: $1.00


This one shot quartet (we based that statement on the fact the back cover of their album shows four faces), is a complete mystery to us ... Judging by the arty sound, we always thought they were English, but at least one well known reference work says they were from New Jersey ...

Recorded in New York's Associated Recording Studios, 1970's "The Hunchback of Notre Dame (The Bells Were My Friends)" was co-produced by Irving Spice and Max Ellen (the eccentric Jerry Samuels (aka Napoleon XIV) engineering). In spite of the goofy title, the collection of original material (a rote cover of Otis Redding's "I've Been Loving You Too Long" being the one exception), was diverse and surprisingly engaging. While the extended title track bogged down in Procol Harum-meets-Tolken art-rock mysticism (not a pretty combination), elsewhere the band displayed considerable versatility, capably polishing off nifty rockers (the scorching "Goin' Down"), Association-styled ballads ("My Woman") and decent pop-rock ("Faraway Man"). While it wasn't the year's most consistent release, the fact it was so diverse was part of its charm. Well worth looking for and you can still find the LP at a decent price (witness our sale) .... Curiously, while Cashbox's Fred Holman's pompous and fawning liner notes credited the material to B. Bradbury, C.J. Brodowicz, L. Demski and C. Holmes, there were no performance credits.

"The Hunchback of Notre Dame (The Bells Were My Friends)" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) The Hunchback of Notre Dame (C. Holmes - B. Bradbury) - 7:17
2.) Goin' Down (C. Holmes - L. Demski) - 2:59
3.) My Woman (C. Holmes - B. Bradbury) - 4:16
4.) Faraway Man (C. Holmes - B. Bradbury) - 4:16

(side 2)

1.) Living In the World (C.J. Brodowicz) - 2:42
2.) She Don't Come Around (C. Holmes - S. Scheier) - 5:43
3.) Dreams of My Life (C. Holmes) - 2:38
4.) I've Been Loving You Too Long (Otis Redding - Jerry Butler) - 2:15
5.) Medley: I Knew I'd Want You / I've Got You (Alexander Rabbit) - 3:26

They apparently also recorded a single for A&M: 'Malaguena' b/w 'I Didn't Even Thank Her' (A&M catalog number AM-1101).


Back to Bad Cat homepage/search