American Dream, The

Band members               Related acts

- Mickey Brook -- drums, percussion

- Don Ferris -- bass, backing vocals

- Nicky Indeliato -- lead vocals, rhythm guitar

- Nick Jameson - guitar, keyboards, vocals

- Don Lee Van Winkle -- guitar, guitar




- Foghat (Nick Jameson)

- Nick Jameson (solo efforts)

- Don Lee Van Winkle (solo efforts)





Genre: rock

Rating: 3 stars ***

Title:  The American Dream

Company: Ampex/Bearsville

Catalog: A-10101

Year: 1970

Country/State: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Grade (cover/record): VG / VG

Comments: minor ring wear

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: not yet listed

Price: $30.00



Looking for an overlooked release that's still affordable, yet recalls the best aspects very commercial popsike aura?  Welcome to the world of The American Dream ... 


A late-1960s Philly-based outfit, The American Dream featured the talents of drummer Mickey Brook, bassist Don Ferris, singer/rhythm guitarist Nicky Indeliato, and guitarists Nick Jameson and Don Lee Van Winkle.  One of the first acts signed Albert Grossman and Todd Rundgren's newly formed Bearsville label (which was distributed by Ampex), their self-titled 1969 debut was also notable as one of Rundgren's first outside production jobs.  By no means the most original album you'll ever hear, "The American Dream" still has lots going for it.  With four of the five members contributing material, the album was quite varied, but thoroughly commercial.  Comparisons to Badfinger, The Beatles and Rundgren's Nazz (which showcased it's own Beatles fixation) were all on target, though 'Cadlilack' and the fuzz guitar propelled 'Rapsberries' displayed an ability to kick the rock quotient up a notch.  These guys were also loose enough to show they had a sense of humor.  While it won't be everyone's cup of tea, the album started with a goofy phone call between one of the band member's and their cantankerous grandmother, while 'Frankford El' found the band launching into something that sounded like a Dr. Hook outtake and 'Credempheis' degenerated into what sounded like a band of rock and roll Nazis (yeah you'll have to check it out).   Personal favorites include the pretty ballad 'Storm', the sjould've beena hit slice of jangle-rock 'I Ain't Searchin'' and Jameson's phasing heavy 'Big Brother' .  The latter had it all going and would have sounded good on The Beatles "Revolver".   For completists Ampex tapped 'I Ain't Searchin'' b/ w 'Good Times as a single (Ampex catalog number X-11011).  



The single actually attracted some regional airplay which helped the parent LP briefly crack into the Billboard top 200.


"The American Dream" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Good News   (Don Lee Van Wink - Bowers) - 

2.) Big Brother   (Nick Jameson) - 

3.) The Other Side   (Don Lee Van Wink) - 

4.) Credempheis     (Don Lee Van Wink - Nickey Indelicato - Nick Jameson - Don Ferris - Mickey Brook) - 

5.) Storm   (Nick Jameson) - 

6.) Cadlilack   (Nick Jameson) - 

(side 2)
1.) My Babe   (Hatfield - Medley) -

2.) I Ain't Searchin'

3.) Future's Folly    (Don Lee Van Wink - Nickey Indelicato - Nick Jameson) -

4.) I Am You   (Nick Jameson) - 

5.) Frankford El     (Don Lee Van Wink - Nickey Indelicato - Nick Jameson) -

6.) Raspberries    (Don Lee Van Wink - Nick Jameson) -


I've never heard the CD reissue on the Pony Canyon label (catalog number PCCY-00843), but have read that it's a mess.


Various band members have reunited over the years, including a 1998 performance in honor of the Electric Factory's 28th anniversary and a 2000 performance honoring the 30th anniversary of Earth Day (the band opened for Redbone at the first 1970 Earth Day benefit concert).


Jameson went on to join Foghat, as well as recording a couple of solo efforts, and handling lots of voice over work for animated features and video games.  He also enjoyed success as a producer and as an actor and film producer.


Indeliato and Van Wink both recorded as solo acts and remain active on the Philly music scene.





Back to Bad Cat homepage/search