Anglo Saxon Brown

Band members               Related acts

- Clemente Burnette - vocals, guitar

- Alvin Brown - trumpet, flugelhorn,  trombone

- Tyrone Durham - drums. percussion

- Debra Henry - lead vocals, percussion

- Anthony Ingram - lead guitar

- Joe Jefferson -  keyboards

- Charles Manns - sax

- Carlton Robinson - bass, vocals

- Dwight Smith - keyboards, vocals

- Larry Washington - percussion





- Silk (Clemente Burnette, Alvin Brown, Tyrone Durham, 

  Debra Henry, Charles Manns, Dwight Smith

- Stacy Henry and the Majestics

- Ujima




Genre: soul

Rating: ** (2 stars)

Title:  Songs for Evolution

Company: Atlantic

Catalog: SD 18192

Year: 1976

Country/State: Richmond, Virginia

Grade (cover/record): VG/VG

Comments: timing sticker on cover; cut out hole top left corner

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4325

Price: $30.00

Cost: $66.00


This Richmond, Virginia-based outfit can trace their musical roots back to the late-1960s and the soul outfit Stacy Henry and the Majestics.  By the early 1970s the band had added singer Debra Henry to the line up and metamorphosed into the band Ujima.


With thoughts of breaking nationally, 1975 found the group relocating to Philadelphia.  They also elected to change their name to Anglos Saxon Brown. The band eventually attracted the attention of Atlantic Records which signed them to a recording contract in 1976.  


Teamed with songwriters/producers Joe Jefferson and Charles Simmons, 1976's "Songs oforEvolution" was recorded in Philadelphia International's Sigma Studios; helping explain why much of the set reflected a Philly International influenced sound.  Largely penned by Jefferson and Simmons, musically the set offered a fairly conventional set of mid 1970s soul.  Henry had the best voice in the group (guitarist Clemente Burnette also sang) and was ably supported by the band on a mix of up tempo and slower numbers.  Unfortunately, the group's dependence on outside material and a couple of extended throwaway dance numbers ('ASB Theme', 'Grizzly' and 'Disco Music') keep the album from being anything special.  Best of the lot is the opener 'Gonna Make You Mine'.  Atlantic also tapped the album for a single - 'Straighten It Out' b/w 'Grizzly' (Atlantic catalog number 45-3379).


"Songs for Evolution" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Gonna Make You Mine   (Joe Jefferson - Charles Simmons) - 6:26
2.) Straighten It Out   (Joe Jefferson - Charles Simmons) - 4:58
3.) Asb Theme   (Joe Jefferson - Charles Simmons - Carlton Robinson) - 5:38
4.) Grizzly   (Joe Jefferson - Charles Simmons) - 5:10

(side 2)

1.) Disco Music   (Joe Jefferson - Charles Simmons - Roebuck) - 6:27
2.) The Man I Love (Gershwin - Gershwin) - 4:45
3.) Call on Me   (Joe Jefferson - Charles Simmons) - 5:38
4.)  I'll Keep Lovin' You   (Joe Jefferson - Charles Simmons) - 5:41


Within a year the band underwent another personnel change which saw the addition of Melvin Watson and yet another new name - Silk.




Back to Bad Cat homepage/search