Barrino Brothers, The

Band members               Related acts

- Bobby Barrino -- vocals (1971-73)

- Julius 'Jute' Barrino -- vocals (1971-73)

- Nathan Barrino -- vocals (1971-73)

- Perry Barrino -- vocals (1971-73)



- none known





Genre: soul

Rating: 4 stars ****

Title:  Livin' High Off The Goodness Of Your Love

Company: Invictus

Catalog: ST 9811

Year: 1973

Country/State: North Carolina

Grade (cover/record): VG+ / VG+

Comments: --

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4993

Price: $140.00



Interesting one-shot outfit on Holland-Dozier-Holland's Invictus label ...  Some thirty years after they split up they got a little bit of posthumous recognition when their niece Fantasia Barrino won the 2005 (?) American Idol competition.


Signed to Invictus the three brothers and one cousin released a series of four singles that did little commercially:


- 1971's 'Trapped In a Love' b/w 'When Love was a Child' (Invictus catalog number Is-9083) 

- 1971's 'I Shall Not Be Moved; b/w 'When Love was a Child' (Invictus catalog number Is-9084)

- 1971's 'I Shall Not Be Moved; b/w 'I Had It All' (Invictus catalog number Is-9104)


While none of the three singles did anything commercially, Invictus management saw them as promising enough to eventually finance an album.  All hyperbole aside, you have to wonder how 1973's "Livin' High Off The Goodness Of Your Love" missed being a massive hit.  All four of the Barrono's had great old-school soul voices with tracks like 'I Had It All', 'Rain', and 'Try It, You'll Like It' showcasing their distinctive mix of Holland-Dozier-Holland's commercial moves and their Southern gospel roots.  They also had a knack for churning out some first-rate vocal harmonies.  Coupled with the cream of Invictus' songwriting and production team, these eight tracks were spectacular.  Imagine prime David Ruffin-era Temptations with a rougher, Southern feel and you'll be in the right aural neighborhood.  In fact the only real complaint is that the album would have benefited from a couple of additional songs.  While there wasn't anything wrong with the extended versions of 'It Doesn't Have To Be That Way' and 'Rain' the set would have been even stronger with a couple of additional tracks.  Elsewhere the album was tapped for two singles:


- 'Try It, You'll Like It' b/w 'I Had It All' (Invictus catalog number Is-9121)

- 'Livin' High Off the Goodness of Your Love' b/w 'Livin' High Off the Goodness of Your Love' (instrumental) (Invictus catalog number Is-9130)


"Livin' High Off The Goodness Of Your Love" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) I Had It All   (Holland - Lamont Dozier) - 4:18

2.) It Doesn't Have To Be That Way   (R. Stringer - W. Montgomery - Ronald Dunbar) - 7:40

3.) Rain      (R. Stringer - Ronald Dunbar) - 6:39

(side 2)
1.) Try It, You'll Like It   (Winford Terry - Raynard Miner) - 2:53

2.) I Can't Believe You're Gone   (William Weatherspoon - A. Bond) - 3:00

3.) Livin' High Off The Goodness Of Your Love   (Brian Holland - Lamong Dozier - Eddie Holland - Payne - R. Stringer) - 4:02

4.) When Love Was A Child   (Holland - Lamont Dozier) - 3:44

5.) Well Worth Waiting For Your Love   (Brian Holland - Lamont Dozier - Eddie Holland - Wylie) - 3:31


The group released one more non-LP single for Invictus - 1973's 'Born To Be Wild' b/w 'Born To Be Wild (instrumental)' (Invictus catalog number 1256).  One last single for the small Detroit-based TCB label and they were history - 'Just a Mistake' b/w 'I'll Take My Flowers Right Now' (TCB catalog number X-100 A/B).  (Good luck finding a copy of the latter - the last copy I saw went for $155.00.)




Back to Bad Cat homepage/search