Band members               Related acts

- Robert Bryant - bass (replaced Kenny Passarelli (1970)
- Larry Ferris - drums (1968-70)
- Gerry Fike - keyboards (1968-70)
- Mike Kearnes - woodwinds (1968-70)
- Kenny Passarelli - bass (1968-69)
- David Raines - vocals (1968-70)
- Dominick Todero - trumpet (1968-69)
- Robert Yeazel - vocals, guitar (1968-70)



- Barnstorm (Kenny Pasarelli)
- Bedlam
- Sugarloaf (Larry Ferris and Robert Yeazel)
- The Super Band (Robert Yeazel)   





Genre: rock 

Rating: ** (2 stars)

Title:  Beast

Company: Evolution

Catalog: 2017

Year: 1970

Country/State: Denver, Colorado USA

Grade (cover/record): VG/VG+

Comments: minor ring, edge and corner wear

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4

Price: $40.00

Cost: $


Formed in Denver, Colorado, Beast featured the talents of drummer Larry Ferris, keyboardist Gerry Fike, woodwind player Mike Kearnes, bassist Kenny Passarelli. singer David Raines, trumpet player Dominick Todero and former Super Band guitarist Robert Yeazel. 

Following the loss of horn player Todero and bassist Passarelli (replaced by Roger Byrant), 1970's cleverly-titled "Beast" was released on the Evolution label. Continuing their partnership with producer Norman Petty the album was again recorded at Petty's Clovis, New Mexico studios. Musically the collection wasn't too different from the debut. Anyone familiar with Lighthouse or Sugarloaf styled horn rock will be pretty comfortable with most of the material. Slightly more varied than the debut, the flute propelled "Communication" and "Don't You Think It's Time?" reflected a quasi-jazzy feel, while the harmony rich "Inlook" sounded like an Association-styled slice of pop and "Move Mountain (You Got It)" found the band taking a stab at conventional hard rock. The overall effect was professional, if a little short on originality and inspiration ... Packaged in one of the year's uglier covers (credit to Charles E. Murphy), the set vanished without a trace, followed in short order by the band.

"Beast" track listing:

(side 1)
1.) Inlook (Robert Yeazel) - 4:22
2.) Communication (Robert Yeazel - R. Morgan - J. Greenspoon) - 6:08
3.) The Man Outside (Robert Bryant - Robert Yeazel) - 1:26
4.) Migration (MIke Kearnes) - 1:58
5.) Whistle (Robert Yeazel) - 0:56

(side 1)

1.) I Am (Robert Yeazel - David Raines - Gerry Fike) - 2:11
2.) Don't You Think It's Time? (Robert Yeazel - David Raines - Robert Bryant) - 3:32
3.) Move Mountain (You Got It) (Robert Yeazel - David Raines - Robert Bryant) - 4:38

4.) It's So Hard (Gerry Fike) - 3:17
5.) Legal Machines (David Raines) - 2:52

Following the band's break up Ferris and Yeazel joined Sugarloaf, while Pasarelli hooked up with Joe Walsh in Barnstorm, followed by an extended career as an in-demand sessions player (see separate entry).



Back to Bad Cat homepage/search