Beau Brummels, The

Band members               Related acts

- Ron Elliott - vocals, guitar

- Don Irving - vocals, guitar

- Ron Meagher - bass

- Declan Mulligan - vocals, guitar

- John Petersen - drums

- Sal Valentino - vocals




- Ron Elliott (solo efforts)

- Joyful Noise (Musical Ensemble) (Ron Elliott)

- Sal Valentino (solo efforts)





Genre: psych

Rating: **** (4 stars)

Title:  Triangle

Company: Warner Brothers

Catalog: WS-1692

Year: 1967

Country/State: California

Grade (cover/record): VG+/VG+

Comments: stereo pressing

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4574

Price: $35.00

Cost: $66.00


This one has always puzzled me in that many reviews label it a concept piece.  If 1967's "Triangle" is a concept album, then the plotline is totally lost on me.  Stan Corney's cryptic liner notes don't exactly clarify the story.   Having said that, I'll readily admit that this may be the best thing these guys ever recorded.  In fact, it's probably worthy of being dubbed as a lost classic; made even more appealing by the fact it remains readily available and affordable.


Down to a trio of guitarist Ron Elliott, bassist Ron Meagher and singer Sal Valentino, the Lenny Waronker produced album was a major change from the band's earlier top-40 orientation.  That change in direction was probably a disappointment to pop fans (helping explain the resulting lack of sales), but propelled by Valentino's instantly recognizable voice and Elliott's surprisingly bizarre lyrics ('Painter of Women', 'The Keeper of Time' and 'The Wolf of Velvet Fortune'), the set's experimental edge more than made up for the lack of top-40 orientation.  Musically tracks such as ''Are You Happy?, the title track and 'The Wolf of Velvet Fortune' offered up a fascinating blend of prototype Americana (two decades before it became popular), country-rock. folk and even lite-psych influences.  Van Dyke Parks guested, providing harpsichord on 'Magic Hollow'.  Backed by 'Lower Level', that also happens to be the track Warner Brothers tapped as an unsuccessful single (Warner Brothers catalog number 7079).

"Triangle" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Are You Happy?   (Durand - Ron Elliott) - 2:17

2.) Only Dreaming Now   (Ron Elliott - Sal Valentino) - 2:06

3.) Painter of Women   (Durand - Ron Elliott) - 2:51

4.) The Keeper of Time   (Durand - Ron Elliott) - 2:09

5.) It Won't Get Better   (Ron Elliott - Sal Valentino) -  2:20


(side 2)
1.) Nine Pound Hammer   (Travis) - 3:19

2.) Magic Hollow   (Ron Elliott - Sal Valentino) - 2:52

3.) And I've Seen Her   (Durand - Ron Elliott) - 1:59

4.) Triangle   (Ron Elliott - Sal Valentino) - 2:17

5.) The Wolf of Velvet Fortune   (Ron Elliott - Sal Valentino) - 4:52

6.) Old Kentucky Home   (Randy Newman) - 2:05






Back to Bad Cat homepage/search