Maggie Bell

Band members                             Related acts

- Maggie Bell -- vocals


  supporting musicians: (1974)

- Cornell Dupree -- lead guitar 

- Steve Gadd -- drums 

- Barry Goldberg -- keyboards 

- John Hughey -- pedal steel guitar

- Lone Pendarvis -- keyboards 

- Ralph McDonald -- percussion

- High McCracken -- guitar 

- Chuck Rainey -- bass 

- Bill Salter -- bass

- Richard Tee -- keyboards

- Reggie Young -- lead guitar




Stone the Crows (Maggie Bell)





Genre: rock

Rating: 3 stars ***

Title:  Queen of the Night

Company: Atlantic

Catalog: SD 7293

Country/State: Glasgow, Scotland

Grade (cover/record): VG+/VG+

Comments: --

Available: 2

Catalog ID: 5496

Price: $15.00


When Stone the Crow's lead guitarist Les Harvey was fatally electrocuted on stage it was only a matter of time until the remainder of the band called it quits.  That decision came in June 1973 at which point Stone the Crows manager Peter Grant wasted no time using his considerable influence to get Scotish singer Maggie Bell signed to Atlantic Records.  It was equally clear that Atlantic music executives had big plans for Bell.  Quickly signed to the label as a solo act, Bell was teamed with producer Jerry Wexler and the cream of Atlantic's studio musicians including drummer Steve Gadd, bassist Chuck Rainey, and keyboardist Richard Tee.



Comparing a female singer to the late Janie Joplin is usually the kiss of death - the equivalent of comparing some defenseless male singer/songwriter to Bob Dylan.  Such comparisons are normally meant to praise, but come off undermining the other artist's talents in the unfair comparison.  That said 1974's "Queen of the Night" was one of those rare instances where the comparison wasn't that far off.  If you could close your eyes and picture Joplin as a Scottish born red head  tracks like 'Caddo Queen', 'Souvenirs' and the title track bore more than a passing resemblance to Joplin.  Bell certainly owned a voice the recalled Joplin, but the comparison extended to her 'rock chick' personna.  Judging by the sullen cover photo she wasn't someone you wanted to piss off.  Musically the set bounced all over the place including country-blues ('A Woman Left Alone' - a track Joplin also recorded), hard rock ('Caddo Queen'), jazz ('Trade Winds'), and gimmick pop (a cover of Ringo Starr's 'Oh My My').  While the diversity served to showcase Bell's broad range that lack of focus also made it difficult to figure out what her true strengths were.  She clearly had a deep penchant for the blues and the most hardcore numbers were among her best performances - check out the stunning 'As The Years Go Passing By'.  Call it a qualified success and move on to her next album.  Released as a single her Latin and Calypso-tinged cover of 'After Midnight' b/w 'As The Years Go Passing By' Atlantic catalog number 45-3018) hit # 97 on the US charts.  In contrast, released as a follow-up single 'Caddo Queen' b/w 'Oh My My' (Atlantic catalog number 45-3040) failed to chart.


"Queen of the Night" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Caddo Queen   (Troy Seals - Will Jennings - Mentor Williams) - 3:35
2.) A Woman Left Lonely   (Dan Penn - Dewey Oldham) - 3:54
3.) Souvenirs   (John Prine) - 5:37
4.) After Midnight   (J.J. Cale) - 2:34
5.) Queen Of The Night   (Ronnie Leahy) - 4:02


(side 2)
1.) Oh My My   (Richard Starkley - Vinny Poncia) - 3:00
2.) As The Years Go Passing By    (Deadric Malone) - 4:21
3.) Yesterday's Music   David Clayton Thomas - William Smith) - 3:28
4) We Had It All   (Troy Seals - Donny Fritts) - 2:58
5). The Other Side   (Carole Bayer Sager - Peter Allen) - 2:59
6). Trade Winds   (Ralph MacDonald - William Sater) - 5:11



The LP's been reissued a couple of times.  I can't vouch for legitimacy, but the Italian Arkama label released it in vinyl format with a bonus track 'Wishin' Well' (Arkama catalog number AK 350).   The Angel Air label also released it in CD format with a pair of bonus live tracks 'Penicillin Blues' and 'Wishing Well' (Angel Air catalog number SJPCD200).


Bell has a small website at: