Black Wednesday

Band members                             Related acts

  line up 1 (1975)

- Wolfgang Heidemeyer -- vocals, bass

- Wolfgang Over -- guitar, vocals

- Michael Scholz -- lead guitar, vocals

- Wolfgang Schoz -- drums, percussion, vocals




- none known





Genre: rock

Rating: 3 stars ***

Title:  Black Wednesday

Company: private press

Catalog: TB0379009

Country/State: Bielefeld, Germany

Grade (cover/record): VG+/VG+

Comments: --

Available: 1

Catalog ID:  23055

Price: $150.00


Best time to hear: After a long, crappy day at the office


Of course I was attracted to this German obscurity by the dynamic cover art ...    Beyond the AWESOME cover art, how could you not fall in love with a band that featured three Wolfgangs?   In this case, singer/bassist Wolfgang Heidemeyer, rhythm guitarist Wolfgang Over, and drummer Wolfgang Schoz.  The lone non-Wolfgang was Schoz's brother Michael on lead guitar.


My copy of the album provides little bibliographic information.  It was produced and released by Tonstudio Bockstiegel located in Bielefeld, Germany and the four members were credited with the arrangements.  Speculation on my part, but since there were no writing credits, I'm guessing the four band members were collectively responsible for all of the material.  To be brutally honest, "Black Wednesday" is not the kind of album that's going to radically change anyone's life.  These guys were all competent players. Lead guitarist Michael Scholz was particularly good.  Musically the set had a distinctive '60s vibe with the band swinging between '60s garage rockers ('I Got To Go') to more psych-tinged touches ('Sitting By a Pillow').  What stopped the album from being a true beast was the combination of mediocre production, low tech, uninspired sound and the absence of a truly outstanding song.  Okay, Heidemeyer's heavily accented vocals took a little getting use to, but my ears quickly adjusted. 





There are two versions of the album - the 1975 original featuring yellow type and an orange inner label, while the 1979 reissue has white lettering on the cover and a red inner label. By the way, even a copy of the reissue will cost you dearly.






"Black Wednesday" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Skylab   (Wolfgang Heidemeyer - Wolfgang Over - Michael Scholz - Wolfgang Schoz) (instrumental) - 2:58   rating: *** stars

Maybe I'm losing it but after the alarm clock opening the refrain that kicked along the opening instrumental 'Skylab' has always reminded me of The Beatles' 'Hey Bulldog'.  That's not a bad thing, just kind of an odd thing to hear from a late-'70s Krautrock band.

2.) Sitting By a Pillow   (Wolfgang Heidemeyer - Wolfgang Over - Michael Scholz - Wolfgang Schoz) - 3:16   rating: *** stars

Hum, the band dipping their collective toes into a touch of psych?  'Sitting By a Pillow' may have been the album's prettiest performance, but Wolfgang Schoz percussion attack seemed disproportionate to the rest of the arrangement.

3.) Sounds from the Basement   (Wolfgang Heidemayer - Wolfgang Over - Michael Scholz - Wolfgang Schoz) - 6:31   rating: **** stars

'Sounds from the Basement' opened up with one of their more interesting arrangements and showcased some of Michael Scholz's most enjoyable guitar. To my ears, Heidemeyer initially sounded like he was single "sons from the basement", but who cared and the tune actually rocked out with quite a bit of energy. 

4.) Funky Nice  (Wolfgang Heidemeyer - Wolfgang Over - Michael Scholz - Wolfgang Schoz) - 4:11   rating: ** stars

'Funky Music' sounded like the band had been listening to more than their share of early Santana and mid-'70s dance music.  Good tune for those of you into those genres and who appreciate a healthy dose o cowbell.  Nah, it really wasn't funky.

5.) Loch Ness   (Wolfgang Heidemeyer - Wolfgang Over - Michael Scholz - Wolfgang Schoz) - 4:39   rating: *** stars

'Loch Ness' actually reflected a touch of funkiness, though it's prime purpose seemed to be highlighting Michael Scholz's lead guitar.  What the hell was Heidemeyer singing about ?


(side 2)
1.) Can't Get Along
   (Wolfgang Heidemeyer - Wolfgang Over - Michael Scholz - Wolfgang Schoz) - 3:00   rating: *** stars

Starting out with a distinctively progressive vibe, 'Can't Get Along' suddenly switched to garage rock vibe.  Nothing wrong with this one and again, there was plenty of cowbell.

2.) I Got To Go   (Wolfgang Heidemeyer - Wolfgang Over - Michael Scholz - Wolfgang Schoz) - 3:31   rating: **** stars

'I Got To Go' sounded  like a mid-'60s garage rocker that somehow got lost in these grooves.  Very different from the rest of the album and quite enjoyable due in large measure to the raw, under-produced sound.

3.) Why Not   (Wolfgang Heidemeyer - Wolfgang Over - Michael Scholz - Wolfgang Schoz) - 4:41   rating: *** stars

The first half of 'Why Not' sounded like an in-studio jam.  Once again Schoz turned in some nice lead guitar backed by what sounded like some jews harp sound effects.   And then, unexpectedly half way through, the song abruptly shifted direction revealing the album's most commercial rocker.

4.) My Strongest Love   (Wolfgang Heidemeyer - Wolfgang Over - Michael Scholz - Wolfgang Schoz) - 5:52   rating: *** stars

The song title found me expecting something exceedingly commercial.  Naturally my expectations were off by a country mile.  'My Strongest Love' started out with a mixture of guitar abuse and various sound effects.  About two minutes in the vocals kicked in and in a short time I found myself wishing this one had remained an instrumental.  Yeah, the vocals were pretty raw and very echoic and didn't improve when Heidemeyer started to scat.  Come to think of it, the whole song sounded raw and under-produced.