The Blue Ridge Rangers

Band members                             Related acts

- John Fogerty - vocals, guitar, percussion, bass, keyboards



- Creedence Clearwater Revival (John Fogerty)
- John Fogerty (solo efforts)
- Tom Fogerty and the Blue Velvets
- The Golliwogs





Genre: country-rock

Rating: **** (4 stars)

Title:  Blue Ridge Rangers

Company: Fantasy

Catalog: F-9415

Year: 1973

Country/State: Oakland, California

Grade (cover/record): VG+/VG+

Comments: --

Available: 1

Catalog ID: 1724

Price: $10.00

Cost: $1.00


Following the 1972 breakup of Creedence Clearwater Revival (see separate entry), John Fogerty went into the studio with the intention of beginning his solo career. Instead of recording the first "Fogerty" album, he ended up recording an album of his own country favorites, subsequently issued under the pseudonym The Blue Ridge Rangers.

One of rock's true solo efforts, the collection credited Fogerty with producing, arranging, vocals and all instrumentation (including passable drums). From a musical standpoint the collection's straightforward country sound came as a major surprise to many listeners; however for fans familiar with Fogerty's CCR catalog, the album served as a clear reflection of his longstanding affection for the genre. Charming in it's low tech simplicity and raw, under produced sound, "The Blue Ridge Rangers" went a long way to explaining the powerful influence country music wielded on CCR. Interestingly, with minimal publicity and support from Fantasy, or from Fogerty (he refused to tour and one had to look hard to even realize he was connected with the project), the set spun off two minor hits with a chuggin' cover of Hank Williams' "Jambalaya" b/w "Workin' On a Building" and an equally attractive remake of "Heart of Stone" b/w "Somewhere Listen (for My Name)." Supported by favorable reviews, the parent album hit #47. 

"The Blue Ridge Rangers" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Blue Ridge Mountain Blues (traditional arranged by John Fogerty)
2.) Somewhere Listening (For My Name) (Arch Brownlee)
3.) You're the Reason (Edwards - Henley - Imes - Fell)
4.) Jambalaya (On the Bayou) (Hank Williams)
5.) She Thinks I Still Care (Dickie Lee Lipscombe)
6.) California Blues (Blues Yodel #4) (Jimmie Rodgers)
(side 2)

1.) Workin' On a Building (traditional arranged by John Fogerty)
2.) Please Help Me I'm Falling (Robertson - Blair)
3.) Have Thine Own Way, Lord (Stebbins - Pollard)
4.) I Ain't Never (Tillis - Pierce)
5.) Hearts of Stone (Ray - Jackson)
6.) Today I Start Living You Again (Haggard - Owens)

Hoping to cash-in on Fogerty's subsequent solo successes, Fantasy reissued the set billed as a John Fogerty.