Band members               Related acts

- Michael Botts - drums, percussion

- David Gates - vocals, guitar, keyboards

- James Griffin (RIP 2005) - vocals, guitar, bass, keyboards

- Robb Royer - bass, guitar, flute, backing vocals



David Gates (solo efforts)

- James Griffin (solo efforts)

- Pleasure Fair (Robb Royer)

- Robb Royer (solo efforts)

- The Travelers Three (Michael Botts)





Genre: rock

Rating: *** (3 stars)

Title:  On the Waters

Company: Elektra

Catalog: EKS-74076

Year: 1970

Country/State: US

Grade (cover/record): VG/VG

Comments: still in shrink wrap; crease on front cover

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4644

Price: $5.00

Cost: $66.00


Bread is one of those acts that deserves far more credit that accorded them by critics.  During their early-to-mid 1970s heyday they were routinely savaged by critics who saw them as corporate sellouts, while today they're largely remembered for David Gates sappy hit ballads. What's interesting about these guys if that anyone willing to check out their catalog will see that they were an exceptionally talented outfit.  


Self-produced, "On the Waters" saw them add long time sessions drummer Michael Botts to the line up.  With Gates, Griffin and Royer again responsible for all of the material (the latter two collaborating on material), the album sported a tougher edge than the debut.  Mind you, I'm using the term loosely since every one of the twelve tracks would have made a dandy single.  That commerciality probably didn't help the band with the critics, but the fact of the matter is that these guys were writing some of the best music on the early 1970s market.  Like contemporaries such as Poco and CSN their material featured great melodies, fantastic harmony vocals and an often overlooked ability to rock.  Anyone doubting the latter only needs to check out Gates' 'Blue Satin Pillow' or 'Easy Love. Exemplified by this album, at least to my ears Bread turned out better country-rock than such luminaries as Poco and their harmonies and arrangements were as good as anything CS&N put out.  Naturally Elektra gravitated to the sure hit - Gates' 'Make It With You' b/w 'Why Do You Keep Me Waiting' (Elektra catalog number 45686) going top-10.  I'd argue that Griffin and Royer's 'Look What You've Done' was actually the better ballad.  Backed by a national tour and the hit single, the album sold gold kicking the group into the commercial big time.  

"On the Waters" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Why Do You Keep Me Waiting   (James Griffin - Robb Royer) - 2:29

2.) Make It with You   (David Gates) - 3:15

3.) Blue Satin Pillow   (David Gates) -2:26

4.) Look What You've Done   (James Griffin - Robb Royer) - 3:10

5.) I Am That I Am   (James Griffin - Robb Royer) - 3:18

6.) Been Too Long On the Road   (David Gates) - 4:49


(side 2)
1.) I Want You With Me   (David Gates - James Griffin) -2:48

2.) Coming Apart   (James Griffin - Robb Royer) - 3:25

3.) Easy Love   (James Griffin - Robb Royer) - 2:26

4.) In the Afterglow   (David Gates) -2:34

5.) Call On Me   (James Griffin - Robb Royer) - 4:00

6.) The Other Side of Life   (David Gates) - 2:02




Back to Bad Cat homepage/search