Brother To Brother

Band members               Related acts

- Michael Burton -- (1974-75)

- Craig Derry -- congas (1976)

- Yogi Horton -- drums (1974-75) 

- Billy Jones -- lead guitar, bass, keyboards (1974-76)

- Clarence Oliver -- drums (1976)

- Frankie Prescott -- (1974-75) 

- Bernadette Randle -- keyboards (1976)

- Jonathan Williams -- bass (1976)



- unknown




Genre: soul

Rating: *** (3 stars)

Title:  In the Bottle

Company: Turbo

Catalog: TU-7013

Year: 1974

Country/State: St. Louis, Missouri

Grade (cover/record): VG+/VG+

Comments: small drill hole to right corner

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4668

Price: $60.00


Yeah, this one's pretty obscure ...  I bought it at a yard sale based on the fact I'd once heard the title track single on a local radio station ('In the Bottle' b/w 'The Affair' Turbo catalog number TU-039).


Can't say I know a great deal about the band other than they were apparently from St. Louis and the line up consisted of Michael Burton, Yogi Horton, Billy Jones and Frankie Prescott.  Burton was a staff writer for Sylvia Robinson's Stang Records while the others were sessions players - probably explaining their relationship with Robinson's Turbo Records.  The unexpected success of their Gil Scott Heron cover (# 9 R&B and # 46 pop) led Turbo to finance a supporting album.  Released as the cleverly title "In the Bottle" the album's surprisingly impressive.  The lead singer Burton had a weird dry and raspy lisp of a voice that occasionally recalled a mix between Bobby Womack and Sly Stone.  Musically the set was quite accomplished showcasing a mix of social commentary and funk moves ('Big Brother' and 'Junkie').  The most interesting tracks were a cool cover of The Temptation's 'I Wish It Would Rain' and a nice wah-wah guitar propelled 'If He Can Do It (You Can Do It)'.   


"In the Bottle" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) In the Bottle   (Gill Scott Heron) - 3:10

2.) Hey, What's That You Say   (Ineffie Woods) - 3:04

3.) Big Brother   (Michael Burton - S. Robinson) - 3:31

4.) I Wish It Would Rain   (Norman Whitfield - Barrett Strong) - 6:24

5.) Junkie   (Michael Burton - S. Robinson) - 2:19    


(side 2)
1.) Trespassing   (Ineffie Woods) - 3:37

2.) A Love of My Own   (Wood, Brass & Steel Band) - 3:38

3.) Mother Earth   (Michael Burton - S. Robinson) - 4:50

4.) If He Can Do It (You Can Do It)   (Wood, Brass & Steel Band) - 3:22





Genre: soul

Rating: *** (3 stars)

Title:  Let Your Mind Be Free

Company: Turbo

Catalog: TU-7015

Year: 1976

Country/State: St. Louis, Missouri

Grade (cover/record): VG+/VG+

Comments: minor stain lower right corner; writing next to songs on back cover (fast, slow)

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4836

Price: $20.00


By the 1975's "Let Your Mind Be Free" was released singer/multi-instrumentalist Billy Jones was the only hold over from the previous album.  Again responsible for the majority of material, exemplified by the title track, 'Chance with You' and '', this time around Jones seemed to take some of his creative cues from George Clinton and the Funkadelic/Parliament universe.  Those stylistic cues were actually a good match for Jones' weird voice.  While the fund tracks were good, the album highlights actually came from other sources.  One of those highlights was the breezy, should've-been-a-hit ballad 'Visions'.  The song sounded like Jones had copped the song from a War album. Equally nice were the bouncy, synthesizer propelled instrumental 'Phattenin' and the radio friendly 'Groovy Day'.  Turbo also tapped the album for a pair of singles:


- 1976's 'Let Your Mind Be Free' (vocal) b/w 'Let Your Mind Be Free' (instrumental) (Turbo catalog number TU-045)

- 1976's 'Chance with You' b/w 'Joni' (Turbo catalog number TU-048)


Just my opinion, but this one's far more consistent and enjoyable than "In the Bottle".


"Let Your Mind Be Free" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Let Your Mind Be Free   (Billy Jones) - 

2.) Visions   (Billy Jones) - 

3.) Chance with You   (Bernadette Randle - Billy Jones) -

4.) Phattenin' (instrumental)   (Craig Derry - Billy Jones) -  


(side 2)
1.) Groovy Day   (Billy Jones) - 

2.) Take My Love   (Billy Jones - Sylvia Robinson) - 

3.) Leaven' Me   (Billy Jones) - 

4.) Joni   (Billy Jones) - 



Back to Bad Cat homepage/search