Brown, Pete (& Piblokto!)

Band members               Related acts

- Brian Breeze - lead guitar (replaced Jim Mullen) (1971)

- Pete Brown - vocals, percussion (1969-71)

- Roger Bunn - bass (1969-70)

- Steve Glover - bass (replaced Roger Bunn) (1970-71)

- Jim Mullen - lead guitar (1969-71)

- John Pugwash-Weathers - drums (replaced Robert Tait)


- Phil Ryan - keyboards (replaced Dave Thomson) (1970)

- Robert Tait - drums (1969-71)

- Dave Thomson - keyboards (1969-70)



Battered Ornaments

- Eyes of Blue (Phil Ryan)

- Kokomo (Jim Mullens)

- Man (Phil Ryan)

- Vinegar Joe (Jim Mullens)


Genre: progressive

Rating: **** (4 stars)

Title:  Golden Country Kingdom

Company: EMI Harvest

Catalog: 2C 0064-05200

Year: 1972

Country/State: UK

Grade (cover/record): VG/VG; small sticker on back cover

Comments: French pressing

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID:

Price: $100.00


Released by EMI's French Pathe Marconi subsidiary, 1973's "Golden Country Kingdom" serves as a wonderful career retrospective for this grossly overlooked UK eccentric.  Pulling together ten tracks from his obscure (and expensive) solo LPs and a couple of even rarer 45s ("Can't Get Off the Planet" and "Flying Hero Sandwich"), for anyone who's curious or simply a casual fan, this is a great place to start.  All ten tracks are good, highlights including the blazing "Living Life Backwards", the pretty ballad "Aeroplane Head Woman", "Thousands On a Raft" and the gorgeous title track (lifted from 1970's "Things May Come and Things May Go But the Art School Dance Goes On Forever").


"Golden Country Kingdom" track listing:

(side 1)

1.) Living Life Backwards   (Pete Brown) -

2.) Aeroplane Head Woman   (Pete Brown) -

3.) Can't Get Off the Planet   (Pete Brown) -

4.) Walk for Charity, Run for Money   (Pete Brown) -

5.) Flying Hero Sandwich   (Pete Brown) -


(side 2)

1.) If You Could Only See Me Now   (Pete Brown) -

2.) My Last Band   (Pete Brown) -

3.) Golden Country Kingdom   (Pete Brown) -

4.) Broken Magic   (Pete Brown) -

5.) Thousands On a Raft   (Pete Brown) -





Genre: progressive

Rating: **** (4 stars)

Title:  My Last Band

Company: Harvest

Catalog: SHSM 2017

Year: 19

Country/State: UK

Grade (cover/record): VG/VG

Comments: --

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID:

Price: $75.00


While it shares seven tracks with the earlier "Golden Country KIngdom", given any of his original studio albums will set you back a minimum of a three digit figure, "My Last Band" might be a good place for casual fans or the curious to start.  In case anyone cares, the three non-overlapping tracks are 'High Flying Electric Bird', 'Station Song Platform Two' and 'The Week Looked Good On Paper'.


"My Last Band" track listing:

(side 1)

1.) High Flying Electric Bird   (Pete Brown - Jim Mullen) - 

2.) Broken Magic   (Pete Brown - Jim Mullen) - 

3.) Station Song Platform Two   (Pete Brown - Jim Mullen) - 

4.) The Week Looked Good On Paper   (Pete Brown) -

5.) Flying Hero Sandwich   (Pete Brown) -  


(side 2)

1.) Thousands On a Raft   (Pete Brown - Jim Mullen) - 

2.) My Last Band    (Pete Brown - John Pugwash Weathers - Phil Ryan) - 

3.) Golden Country Kingdom   (Pete Brown - Jim Mullen) - 

4.) Living Life Backwards   (Pete Brown - Roger Brunn - Jim Mullen) - 

5.) Can't Get Off the Planet   (Pete Brown - Ball) - 



Back to Bad Cat homepage/search