Caine, Simon

Band members               Related acts

- Simon Caine -- vocals (1969-70)

- Pat Godfrey -- keyboards (1969-70)

- Bill Palmer -- guitar (1969-70)

- Bruce Pennycook -- woodwinds (1969-70)

- Dennis Pendrith -- bass (1969-70)

- John Savage -- drums, percussion (1969-70)




- Simon Caine and the Catch

- Livingston's Journey (Dennis Pendrith)

- Luke & the Apostles (Dennis Pendrith)

- Silver Tractors (Dennis Pendrith)

- Three's a Crowd (Dennis Pendrith)






Genre: rock

Rating: 3 stars *** 

Title:  Simon Caine

Company: RCA Victor

Catalog: LSP-4410

Year: 1970

Country/State: Ontario, Canada

Grade (cover/record): VG+ / VG+

Comments: --

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4951

Price: $75.00



I know nothing about this outfit other than they were from Southern Ontario, formed on 1969 and sported a line-up consisting of singer Simon Caine, keyboard player Pat Godfrey, guitarist Bill Palmer, woodwind player Bruce Pennycook, bassist Dennis Pendrith, and drummer John Savage.


Produced by George Semkiw, "Simon Caine" was recorded at RCA's Toronto Studios.  The first time I slapped this album on my turntable I had to check to make sure I had it set at the right speed.  For at least a moment I thought I was either playing an album at 45 rpm, or I'd mistakenly slapped a Chipmunks record on ...  High, fragile and somewhat shrill, namesake Caine's voice took a little getting use to.  That said, once you got accustomed to it, he wasn't half bad.  Largely penned by front man Caine, the album offered an entertaining mix of mainstream rock (though several numbers included horn arrangements).  While nothing here was liable to knock your socks off, there were several first rate tracks.  Powered by Bill Palmer's blazing guitar, 'Scarlet Skies' was a killer rocker (though it morphed into a weird slice of avant garde jazz.  Before degenerating into a bad Vaudeville freak out, the opener '100 Fat Hairs' was kind of cute and 'High Executioner' sported some interesting and weird lyrics.  Yes, if nothing else the album deserved acknowledgement for sporting one of rock's ugliest covers ...


"Simon Caine" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) 100 Fat Hairs   (Simon Caine) - 3:16

2.) Left By the Riverside   (Simon Caine) - 4:12

3.) Scarlet Skies   (Simon Caine) - 4:48

4.) High Executioner   (Simon Caine) - 2:49

5.) Walked Out the Door   (Dave Richardson - Pat Godfrey) - 3:47

(side 2)
1.) Introspection   (Simon Caine) - 5:36

2.) This Girl's Eyes   (Simon Caine) - 2:44

3.) Dead Bed Lullabye   (Simon Caine) - 3:45

4.) Brown Paper Dream   (Simon Caine) - 2:50

5.) Leave It Up To You   (Pat Godfrey) - 3:28