Band members                             Related acts

  line-up 1 (1969-70)

- Mike Collins -- vocals, guitar

- Roger White -- vocals, guitar



Friends (Mike Collings and Roger White)





Genre: pop

Rating: *** (3 stars)

Title:  Catch

Company: Dot

Catalog: DLP-25956

Year: 1969

Country/State: California, US

Grade (cover/record): NM/NM

Comments: was sealed; opened and played once to tape

Available: 1

Catalog ID: 4595

Price: $40.00

Cost: $66.00


Here's another unknown late 1960s outfit ...  Apparently a California-based quintet, their self-titled 1969 album doesn't even provide performance credits though singers/guitarists Mike Collins and Roger White were credited with writing the bulk of the material.


Produced by J.R. Shankin, "Catch" certainly had it's moments.  With the eleven tracks credited to Collins and White, most of the set sported a modest country-rock feel.  In this case the description was meant as a compliment since tracks such as 'Amber' and 'Come Near Me' emphasizd the genres' best characteristics - tight harmonies and some catchy melodies.  'Storm' and 'The Dandelion and the Butterfly' offered up more orchestrated pop, but were just as good.  Unlike anything else on the album, 'Crash and Burn' was a take no-prisoners slice of fuzz guitar rock.  It was easily the collection's stand out track.  Also worth hearing was the moody eight minute 'Nine Roses'.  Too bad they didn't have more of these in their catalog.  Elsewhere Dot tapped the LP for two unsuccessful singles:


- 1969's 'I'm On The Road To Memphis' b/w 'Amber' (Dot catalog number 45-17277)

- 1969's 'Storm' b/w 'City Ditty' (Dot catalog number 45-17304)

"Catch" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Amber   (M. Collings - R. White) - 1:45

2.) Come Near Me  ( M. Collings - R. White) - 3:00

3.) Storm  ( M. Collings - R. White) - 5:05

4.) City Ditty  ( M. Collings - R. White) - 2:00

5.) The Dandelion and the Butterfly  ( M. Collings - R. White) - 5:05

6.) Live  ( M. Collings - R. White) - 4:15


(side 2)
1.) I'm On the Road To Memphis  ( M. Collings - R. White) - 2:20

2.) Something Golden  ( M. Collings - R. White) - 3:15

3.) Crash and Burn  ( M. Collings - R. White) - 2:35

4.) Nine Roses  ( M. Collings - R. White) - 8:30

5.) Just a Closer Walk with Thee  ( M. Collings - R. White) - 4:20


Collins and Rogers subsequently appeared as members of the band Feather