Chaplin, Blondie

Band members               Related acts

- Blondie Chaplin -- vocals, guitar, bass, percussion 


- Ricky Fataar -- drums, percussion (1977)

- Kenny Gradney -- bass (1977)

- Gather Hudson -- accordion (1977)

- Joe Hartmann -- keyboards (1977)

- David Mason -- keyboards (1977)

- Carly Munoz -- organ (1977)

- Richard Tee -- keyboards (1977)

- Howard Tsukamoto -- bass (1977)




The Flames (Blondie Chaplin and Ricky Fataar)






Genre: rock

Rating: 4 stars ****

Title:  Rock + Roll

Company: Elektra

Catalog: 7E 1095

Year: 1977

Country/State: South Africa

Grade (cover/record): VG / VG

Comments: small cut out notch lower edge

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 5215

Price: $20.00


Born and raised in South Africa, singer/songwriter Blondie Chaplin's been a professional musician since the mid-1960s, though if he's recognized in the States, it's probably a result of his mid-1970s association with The Beach Boys (think 'Sail On Sailor').   


Produced by Rob Fraboni, 1977's "Rock + Roll" made it clear why The Beach Boys had picked Chaplin for their touring and recording band.  Showcasing eleven Chaplin penned originals, the album was crammed with first rate mid-1970s radio rock.  Propelled by Chaplin's pleasant voice, nifty guitar (his slide work was exceptional) and an enthusiastic set of backing musicians including ex-Flames and Beach Boy drummer Ricky Fataar, tracks like 'Bye Bye Babe', 'Loose Lady' and 'Woman Don't Cry' were every bit as good as the top-40 material being churned out by the likes of The Eagles and Fleetwood Mac.  Even Chaplin's formulaic ballads like 'Crazy Love' and '' had a way of creeping up on you.  Personal favorites included the insidiously catchy 'Can You Hear Me' and 'Riverboat Queen'.  Of the eleven tracks, virtually every one of them would have made for a dandy single.  Only complaint - too bad the female backing vocals were so prominent on a couple of the tracks.  Elektra actually tapped the album for a pair of instantly obscure 45s:


- '' b/w '' (Asylum catalog number )

- '' b/w '' (Asylum catalog number )


As you'd expect the album was greeted with complete critical and commercial indifference.  Shame since this was one of the year's best, if least known releases.


"Rock + Roll" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Bye Bye Babe   (Blondie Chaplin) - 3:22

2.) Can You Hear Me   (Blondie Chaplin) - 4:18

3.) Crazy Love   (Blondie Chaplin) - 3:23

4.) Woman Don't Cry   (Blondie Chaplin) - 3:09

5.) Loose Lady   (Blondie Chaplin) - 3:32

6.) Be My Love   (Blondie Chaplin) - 3:51


(side 2)
1.) Lonely Traveler   (Blondie Chaplin) - 3:15

2.) Riverboat Queen   (Blondie Chaplin) - 5:48

3.) Say You Need Me   (Blondie Chaplin) - 5:01

4.) For Your Love   (Blondie Chaplin) - 2:2

5.) Gimme More Rock 'n' Roll   (Blondie Chaplin) - 4:15




Back to Bad Cat homepage/search