City, The

Band members               Related acts

- Jim Gordon - drums (1969)
- Carole King - vocals, keyboards (1969)
- Danny Kootchmar - guitar (1969)
- Charlie Larkey (RIP) - bass (1969)




- Attitudes (Danny Kootchmar)

- Jo Mama (Danny Kootchmar and Charlie Larkey)
- Carole King (solo efforts)
- The Kingbees (Danny Kootchmar)
- Danny Kootchmar (solo efforts)
- The Myddle Class (Charlie Larkey)
- The Section (Danny Kootchmar)
- James Taylor and the Flying Machine (Danny






Genre: rock

Rating: *** (3 stars)

Title:  Now That Everything's Been Said

Company: Columbia

Catalog: ELS-336

Year: 1969

Country/State: USA

Grade (cover/record): VG+/VG+

Comments: Canadian pressing

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4257

Price: $75.00

Cost: $1.00


Most collectors have a list of obscure albums they'd like to find. This is one that was on our list for the longest time.

Following the breakup of her personal and writing relationship with Gerry Goffin, in the mid-1960s Carole King largely retired from music. Raising her daughter, King didn't step back into music until 1967. One of her first moves was to relocate to Los Angeles where she formed the short lived The City with then-husband/bassist Charlie Larkey (King's Tomorrow Records had previously released an album by Larkey's band The Myddle Class) and guitarist Danny Kortchmar (aka Kootchmar). 

Signed to Lou Adler's Ode label, the trio debuted with 1969's "Now That Everything's Been Said". Given King wrote or co-wrote all but one selection and handled the majority of lead vocals (Kootch sang "A Man Without a Dream" and "Sweet Home"), musically the set might as well have been King's solo debut. While there were some subtle differences from the sound that was to mark her forthcoming solo career, anyone into "Tapestry" will probably find this set both familiar and enjoyable. So what are the highlights? The opener "Snow Queen" has an unexpected progressive feel; thanks to Kortchmar's guitar "Wasn't Born To Follow" sported an unexpected rock sound, while the title track and "Why Are You Leaving" sounded like unsentimental looks back on her failed marriage to Goffin. Unfortunately, King's stage fright left the trio unable to tour and support the LP. Adding to the problem, with Ode switching its distribution agreement from A&M to Columbia, the set became instantly obscure and didn't see an official reissue for two decades (the fact King apparently didn't want it released didn't help). Understandably, as a result the collection's always carried a hefty price tag.

"Now That It's All Been Said" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Snow Queen (Gerry Goffin - Carole King) - 4:11 
2.) I Was Not Born to Follow (Gerry Goffin - Carole King) - 3:45 
3.) Now That Everything's Been Said (Carole King - Stern) - 2:20 
4.) Paradise Alley (Carole King - Palmer) - 3:04 
5.) A Man Without a Dream (Gerry Goffin - Carole King) - 3:50 
6.) Victim of Circumstance (Carole King - Palmer) - 2:35 

(side 2)

1.) Why Are You Leaving (Carole King - Stern) - 3:37 
2.) Lady (Gerry Goffin - Carole King) - 2:59 
3.) My Sweet Home (Allison) - 3:12 
4.) I Don't Believe It (Carole King) - 2:42 
5.) Hi-De-Ho (That Old Sweet Roll) (Gerry Goffin - Carole King) - 3:22 
6.) All My Time (Gerry Goffin - Carole King) - 3:17