Comfortable Chair, The

Band members               Related acts

- Ted Baczek - lead guitar

- Gary Davis - keyboards

- Warner Davis - drums

- Gene Garfin - vocals, percussion, woodwinds

- Greg Leroy - bass, lead guitar

- Bernie Schwartz - lead vocals

- Barbara Wallace - lead vocals




Bernie Scwartz (solo efforts)




Genre: psych

Rating: *** (3 stars)

Title:  The Comfortable Chair

Company: Ode

Catalog: Z12-44005

Year: 1969

Country/State: Los Angeles, California

Grade (cover/record): VG-/VG

Comments: 'WJHU' stamped and written on front and back covers; minor tear along back flap (not shown on photo)

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4328

Price: $50.00

Cost: $66.00


What little attention 1969's "The Comfortable Chair" has gotten seems to stem from the fact The Doors' Jim Morrison discovered them, while John Densmore and Robbie Kreiger served as producers for their sole 1969 album.  That's unfortunate since this set is actually quite impressive in its own right.  


Featuring all-original songs (virtually every band member contributing tot he writing choresl), the album bounces all over the musical spectrum.   Lead singers Bernie Schwartz and Barbara Wallace are both quite good, navigating through the different genres without any trouble.  Highlights include the opening rocker 'Ain't No Good No More', the sweet ballad 'I'll See You' and ''Let Me Through.  Exemplified by 'Some Soon, Some Day' and 'Stars In Heaven' much of the set features a lazy, dreamy aura that's quite captivating.  Had it been a little more original and the band churned out a couple more rock numbers, and the album could have been a classic.  As is, the album makes for a fascinating game of 'spot the influence'.  My ears hear bits of David LaFlame and It's a Beautiful Day (luckily without the violins) and even The Jefferson Airplane ('Be Me').  


Ode also tapped the album for a pair of instantly obscure singles:


- 1969's 'Be Me' b/w 'Come Soon, Some Day' (Ode catalog number 109)

- 1969's 'I'll See You' b/w 'Now' (Ode catalog number 112)


"The Comfortable Chair" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Ain't No Good No More   (Ted Baczek - Barbara Wallace - Gene Garfin) - 2:35

2.) Child's Garden   (Bernie Schwartz) - 2:32

3.) I'll See You   (Gary Davis - Barbara Wallace - Bernie Schwartz) - 2:27

4.) Princess   (Bernie Schwartz) - 3:08

5.) Now   (Barbara Wallace) - 2:50

6.) Some Soon, Some Day  (Ted Baczek - Bernie Schwartz - Gene Garfin) - 3:05


(side 2)

1.) Be Me  (Ted Baczek - Bernie Schwartz - Gene Garfin) - 2:30

2.) Loved It All   (Bernie Schwartz - 2:15

3.) Let Me Through   (K. Wallace - Barbara Wallace) - 2:12

4.) Stars In Heaven  (Ted Baczek - Bernie Schwartz - Barbara Wallace - Gene Garfin) - 3:00

5.) Pale Night of Quite  (Ted Baczek - Bernie Schwartz) - 3:48

6.) The Beast  (Kali Yuza)   (Bernie Schwartz - 3:27


I've never seen it, but the group also had a cameo in and provided two tracks for the 1969 Bob Hope, Jackie Gleason and Jane Wyman flick "How To Commit a Marriage".


Schwartz reappeared as a solo album (see separate entry) and is not a fairly well know psychologist, author and professor.