Cope, Julian

Band members               Related acts

- Julian Cope - vocals, guitar

- Rooster Crosby - percussion (1988)

- James Eller - bass

- Double DeHarrison - keyboards, synthesizers

- Ron Fair - keyboards (1988)

- Friendship David Palmer - drums (1988)

- Donald Ross Skinner - lead guitar, bass, keyboards

- Danny Thompson - bass (1988)

- Chris Whitten - drums, percussion



- The Teardrop Explodes





Genre: rock

Rating: **** (4 stars)

Title:  Saint Julian

Company: Island

Catalog: 90571-1

Year: 1987

Country/State: UK

Grade (cover/record): VG/VG

Comments: original inner sleeve

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4627

Price: $5.00

Cost: $66.00


The ever eclectic Julian Cope's definitely an acquired taste, but for anyone interested in getting a taste of the band's talent, 1987's "Saint Julian" is a great place to start.  Working with producers Wayne Livesey and Ed Stasium, this may be his most commercial and enjoyable set.  Showcasing ten original selection, material such as 'Trampolene', 'Eve's Volcano' and the title track aptly demonstrates Cope's gift for crafting catchy top-40-ish melodies. At least to my ears, this is as good as anything he did with The Teardrop Explodes.  Elsewhere Island released a series of three singles from the album:


- 'Eve's Volcano' b/w 'Almost Beautiful Child' (Island catalog number 99448)

- 'World Shut Your Mouth' b/w 'Upteenth Unnatural Blues' (Island catalog number 99479)  

- 'Trampolene' b/w 'Disaster' (Island catalog number 99970)

"Saint Julian" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) World Shut Your Mouth   (Julian Cope) - 

2.) Trampolene   (Julian Cope) - 

3.) Eve's Volcano   (Julian Cope) - 

4.) Shot Down   (Julian Cope) - 

5.) Planet Ride   (Julian Cope) - 


(side 2)
1.) Saint Julian   (Julian Cope) - 

2.) Spacehopper   (Julian Cope) - 

3.) Pulsar   (Julian Cope) - 

4.) Screaming Secrets   (Julian Cope) - 

5.) A Crack In the Clouds   (Julian Cope) - 





Genre: rock

Rating: **** (4 stars)

Title:  My Nation Underground

Company: Island

Catalog: 91025-1

Year: 1988

Country/State: UK

Grade (cover/record): VG/VG

Comments: original inner sleeve

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4645

Price: $5.00


Perhaps because this is one of Julian Cope's most mainstream efforts, it got lukewarm critical reviews.  That's unfortunate since 1988's "My Nation Underground" has so much going for it - snappy songs, great performances, crystal clear sound (courtesy of producer Ron Fair) and a sense of joy and enthusiasm largely missing from modern rock.  To be honest, if for no other reason the album would be worth buying for Cope's blazing cover of The Vogues hit '5 O'Clock World' (complete with a slice of Petula Clark's hit 'I Know a Place'). Elsewhere, exemplified by Cope originals such as the glistening 'Charlotte Anne' and his Roky Erickson tribute 'Easter Everywhere you could almost label this as Cope's psychedelic album. Of the ten tracks, the only one that seems out of place is the pseudo-funky title track.


This "My Nation Underground" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) 5 O'Clock World   (Hatch - Reynolds) - 

2.) Vegetation   (Julian Cope) - 

3.) Charlotte Anne   (Julian Cope) - 

4.) My Nation Underground   (Julian Cope) - 


(side 2)
1.) China Doll   (Julian Cope) - 

2.) Someone Like Me   (McDowell - Novak) - 

3.) Easter Everywhere   (Julian Cope - Donald Skinner) - 

4.) I'm Not Losing Sleep  (Julian Cope - Donald Skinner) - 

5.) The Great White Hoax   (Julian Cope) - 



Back to Bad Cat homepage/search