Cornelius Brothers and Sister Rose

Band members               Related acts

- Billie Jo Cornelius -- vocals (1972-76)

- Carter Cornelius -- vocals (1971-76)

- Eddie Cornelius (Rip 1991) -- vocals (1971-76)

- Rose Cornelius -- vocals (1971-76)



- Prince Gideon Israel (Eddie Cornelius)





Genre: soul

Rating: 3 stars *** 

Title:  Cornelius Brothers and Sister Rose

Company: United Artists

Catalog: USA 5568

Year: 1972

Country/State: Dania, Florida

Grade (cover/record): VG / VG

Comments: --

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 5011

Price: $10.00



I guess you could get into a lengthy debate as to whether these guys were too MOR to qualify as a true soul outfit.  I don't have the time, energy, or expertise for such philosophical debates.  That said, to some extent I can see both sides of the argument.


On the heels of the success of the single 'Treat Her Like a Lady' b/w 'Over At My Place' (United Artists catalog number 50721), the group was given an opportunity to record an album.


Produced by Bob Archibald, 1972's "Cornelius Brothers and Sister Rose" was actually somewhat of a misnomer since by the time it was recorded the group's line-up had expanded to a four piece with the addition of younger (and quite attractive) sister Billy Jo Cornelius.  Credited with penning most of the material while serving as lead vocalist, to a large extent the album served as a showcase for brother Eddie.  Eddie was gifted with an instantly recognizable voice that was gravelly and raw, yet exceptionally commercial.  Musically the set was somewhat schizophrenic with producer Archibald and the group clearly trying to balance a tougher soul sound with a more pop-oriented attack.  While most of Eddie's material packed more spunk and wallop than a group like The Fifth Dimension, a couple of tracks like 'Gonna Be Sweet for You' and their Al Green cover 'Let's Stay Together' came very close to elevator music status.  Luckily those missteps were far and few between.  Far better were the group's up-tempo numbers, including the radio hits:


- 'Too Late To Turn Back Now' b/w 'Lift Your Love Higher' (United Artists catalog number 50910)

- 'Don't Ever Be Lonely (A Poor Little Fool Like Me)' b/w 'I'm So Glad (To Be Loved By You)' (United Artists catalog number 50954)

- 'I'm Never Gonna Be Alone Anymore' b/w 'Let's Stay Together' (United Artists catalog number 50996)    


Maybe not the most original album you'll ever find, but a nice addition to anyone who enjoys catchy soul.


"Cornelius Brothers and Sister Rose" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Too Late To Turn Back Now   (Eddie Cornelius) - 

2.) I'm So Glad (To Be Loved By You)   (Eddie Cornelius - Carter Cornelius) - 

3.) Let Me Down Easy   (Eddie Cornelius) - 

4.) Don't Ever Be Lonely (A Poor Little Fool Like Me)   (Eddie Cornelius) - 

5.) Gonna Be Sweet for You   (Eddie Cornelius) - 

(side 2)
1.) I'm Never Gonna Be Alone Anymore   (Eddie Cornelius - Carter Cornelius) - 

2.) Good Loving Don't Come Easy   (Eddie Cornelius) - 

3.) Treat Her Like a Lady   (Eddie Cornelius) - 

4.) Just Ain't No Love (Like a Lady's)   (Eddie Cornelius) - 

5.) Lift Your Love Higher   (Eddie Cornelius) - 

6.) Let's Stay Together   (Willie Mitchell - Al Green - Jackson) -