Cray, Robert

Band members               Related acts

- Richard Cousins -- bass

- Robert Cray -- vocals, guitar

- David Olson -- drums

- Warren Rand -- sax

- Mike Vannice - keyboards, sax




- none known





Genre: soul

Rating: 4 stars ****

Title:  Bad Influence

Company: Hightone

Catalog: 8001
Year: 1983

Country/State: Columbus, Georgia

Grade (cover/record): VG+ / VG

Comments: --

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 5397

Price: $10.00


Released in 1983, Robert Cray's sophomore set "Bad Influence" may be the best thing he ever recorded.  Featuring a collection heavy on band-penned originals, Cray and company seldom sounded as enthused.   Exemplified by tracks such as 'Phone Booth' and the title track the album also served to showcase Cray's unique hybrid of classic soul and R&B moves.  For his part Cray sounded far more comfortable in the studio, turned in some truly memorable vocals (Eddie Floyd's 'Got To Make a Comeback'), while venturing out to showcase his surprisingly strong guitar chops (the closer 'No Big Deal').  Sure, there were a couple of clunkers - the pedestrian funk number 'So Many Women, So Little Time'  It also wasn't a set for blues purists who would have probably been appalled to hear some of  Cray's more pop oriented moves.  Still, it was a set well worth checking out and a good place for Cray newbies to start out.  Kudos to producers Bruce Bromberg and Dennis Walker who ensured crystal clear sound.


"Bad Influence" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Phone Booth   (Dennis Walker - Robert Cray - Richard Cousins - Mike Vannice) - 3:26

2.) Bad Influence   (Robert Cray - Mike Vannice) - 2:53

3.) The Grinder   (D. Amy - Robert Cray) - 4:05

4.) Got To Make a Comeback   (Eddie Floyd - Shamwell) - 2:50

5.) So Many Women, So Little Time   (D. Amy - N.T. Clemens - O. Washington) - 3:50


(side 2)
1.) Where Do I Go From Here   (Dennis Walker - Robert Cray - Mike Vannice) - 4:00

2.) Waiting for the Tide To Turn   (Dennis Walker - Robert Cray - Mike Vannice) - 3:30    

3.) March On   (Robert Cray) - 2:25

4.) Don't Touch Me   (Johnny Watson - M. Davis-Ling) - 3:20

5.) No Big Deal   (D. Amy - Robert Cray) - 4:11