Cry 3

Band members               Related acts

- Terry Andersen -- vocals, percussion

- Taylor Armerding -- vocals, guitar

- Charles Lloyd Chittenden III - guitar

- Gene Elders -- violin

- Vern Gibson -- flute 

- Mike Johnson -- vocals, guitar

- Lester Kahn -- guitar

- Jeff Lass - keyboards

- Al Perez -- synthesizers

- Turley Richards -- vocals

- Bard Richmond -- bass

- Greg Volz -- vocals

- Rex Waters -- bass




- Excursions (Mike Johnson)

- Petra (Greg Volz)

- Turley Richards (solo efforts)





Genre: rock

Rating: 3 stars ***

Title:  Cry 3

Company: Clear Light

Catalog: CL 102

Year: 1975

Country/State: Massachusetts

Grade (cover/record): VG / VG

Comments: envelop cover

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 5098

Price: $100.00



This is a strange one that actually shows up in one of the Hans Pokora books.  While it isn't what I would call a 'must own' album, I'd like to know a little more about.  Released by the Massachusetts-based Clear Light label, 1975's "Cry 3 An Odyssey of the Spirit" was apparently recorded as a soundtrack for a multi-media presentation.  Judging by the pseudo-religious themes that prevail, I'm guessing that it was some sort of church sponsored program.  From a personnel standpoint the set was kind of interesting in that it showcased a sort of nascent Christian super group with Mike Johnson having been a member of The Excursions, while Greg Volz played with the band Petra.  Musically this wasn't half bad.  Propelled by doom and gloom synthesizers and large church choirs the two Al Perez composed instrumental suites didn't do all that much for me ('First Trilogy' and 'Second Trilogy').  Some reviewers have labeled them as psychedelic, but in spite of the 'end of earth' synthesizers and over orchestration they really aren't.  On the other hand, tracks like 'Meanings Will Change', a cover of Stephen Stills' 'Know You Got To Run' and '' were all tuneful in a Poco-ish country-rock fashion.  The fact they soft peddled the religious sentiments certainly didn't hurt the album.  Mind you not all of it was subtle - 'Reflections' and 'I Heard the Voice of Jesus' were both pretty cringe inducing.  So ... call it pleasant and move on.


"Cry 3" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) First Trilogy   (Al Perez -) - 5:05

  i.) Creation (instrumental) - 2:50

  ii.) The Serpent (instrumental) - 1:00

  iii.) The Fall  (instrumental)- 1:15

2.) Lost In a Dream   (Gary Wright) - 5:11

3.) Know You Got To Run    (Stephen Stills - John Hopkins) - 4:07

4.) Meanings Will Change   (Bill Hughes) - 5:11

5.) Reflections   (Keith Cradock - Cliff Richard) - 2:50

(side 2)
1.) Second Trilogy   (Al Perez) - 8:12

  i.) Incarnation (instrumental) - 8:12

  ii.) Crucifixion (instrumental) - 3:17

  iii.) Resurrection (instrumental)   (Charles Lloyd Chittendon)

2.) I Heard the Voice of Jesus   (traditional)

3.) Glory Glory   (Art Reynolds) - 3:22

4.) Open Our Eyes   (Bill Lumkins) -- 3:31