Eggs Over Easy

Band members                             Related acts

  line up 1 (1969-76)

- Austin Delone -- vocals, keyboards, guitar

- Bill Franz -- drums, percussion 

- Brian Hopkins -- vocals, keyboards, bass, guitar

- Jack O'Hara -- vocals, guitar, bass, harmonica




- David Blue's American Patrol (Jack O'Hara)

- The Christmas Jug Band (Austin Delone)

- The Moonlighters (Austin Delone)

- The Reptile Brothers (Brian Hopkins)

- Southwind (Austin Delone)





Genre: rock

Rating: 4 stars ****

Title:  Good 'n' Cheap

Company: A&M

Catalog: SP-4266

Country/State: New York, NY

Grade (cover/record): NM/NM

Comments: still in shrink wrap; original lyric inner sleeve

Available: SOLD

Catalog ID: SOLD5442

Price: SOLD $50.00


I was introduced to English 'pub rockers' like Ace, Bees Make Honey, Brinsley Schwarz, Ducks Deluxe, Help Yourself, etc. in the mid-1970s while a teenager living with my family in Europe,  While friends were into the likes of Black Sabbath, Grand Funk Railroad, and Peter Frampton, my early exposure to pub rock resulted in these group being long time staples on my turntable (showing my age here).  With that background, I'm embarrassed to admit that for years I had no ideas Eggs Over easy were in fact American, let alone originally from New York !!!  (Yes, I knew the band Clover were American.)



Formed in 1969, Eggs Over Easy was built around the talents of former Southwind multi-instrumentalist Austin Delone, drummer Bill Franz, and multi-instrumentalists Brian Hopkins and  Jack O'Hara.  The quartet attracted some early notice on San Francisco's club circuit, including the attention of Mercury Records which decided to sign them to a contract and finance an album.  Teaming the band with Hendrix-producer Chas Chandler the band packed their bags for London where they reportedly completed an album only to see their deal with Mercury fall apart and the sessions shelved.  The band spent the next year touring the college circuit, including a weird slot opening for John Mayall, eventually getting a steady slot at London's The Tally Ho club where their blend of blues, country, and rock found favor with local audiences and served to inspire a flood of pub rock outfits (including those mentioned above).


With their work permits expiring the band returning to the New York where they were signed to A&M Records resulting in the release of 1972's Link Wray produced "Good 'n' Cheap".  Blessed with three strong writers (drummer Franz was the only non-writing member), the largely original material showcased a winning mixture of country-rock, pop, and soul moves.  With three capable singers (O'Hara's rugged voice was probably the best of the lot reminding me of Tony Joe White - check out 'Arkansas'), the album was literally full of easy going charm and memorable songs.  So where to begin?  'Party Party' was sheer pop pleasure; 'Henry Morgan' was the commercial song Robbie Robertson and The Band always wanted to write. 'The Factory' rocker harder than anything their imitators/competitors ever committed to vinyl.  While I'm not a Link Wray fanatic, I believe he was responsible for a couple of the killer solos - 'The Factory' and 'Night Flight' may well have had Wray's fingerprints on them.  Imagine a slightly less eclectic version of NRBQ and you'll be in the right aural neighborhood.  An overlooked classic, this one's well worth digging around for.


"Good 'n' Cheap" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Party Party   (Austin Delone) - 2:58

2.) Arkansas   (Jack O'Hara) - 3:57

3.) Henry Morgan   (Brian Hopkins) - 4:30

4.) The Factory   (Austin Delone) - 3:00

5.) Face Down In the Meadow   (Brian Hopkins) - 4:07


(side 2)
1.) Home To You   (Jack O'Hara) - 3:54

2.) Song Is Born of Riff and Tongue   (Robert Fraker) - 4:18

3.) Don't Let Nobody   (Austin de Lone - Brian Hopkins) - 3:02

4.) Runnin' Down To Memphis   (Brian Hopkins) - 3:14

5.) Pistol On a Shelf   (Austin Delone) - 3:33

6.) Night Flight   (Jack O'Hara) - 3:35


There's reportedly a sophomore LP, unfortunately I've yet to hear a copy of 1976's oddly titled "I'm Going To Put a Bar In the Back of My Car and Drive Myself To Drink" (Buffalo Records catalog number ).  Anyone got a spare copy they want to dump? 


Within a matter of months the group had called it quits.   Delone became a sessions player, with stints in The Christmas Jug Band and The Moonlighters.  Hopkins reappeared as a member of The Reptile Brothers.





Back to Bad Cat homepage/search

Back to BadCat reviews

Back to BadCat payment information