Everpresent Fullness, The

Band members               Related acts

- Tom Carvey = vocals, guitar (1965-66)
- Terry Hand = drums (1965-66)
- Paul Johnson = guitar (1965-66)
- Steve Pugh = bass (1965-66)
- Jack Ryan = vocals, autoharp, harmonica, horns




- The Moon (Terry Hand)
- Rocket Science (Terry Hand)
- Thorinshield (Terry Hand)




Genre: rock

Rating: *** (3 stars)

Title:  The Everpresent Fullness

Company: White Whale

Catalog: WWS-7132

Year: 1970

Country/State: Los Angeles, California

Grade (cover/record): VG/VG

Comments: --

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4260

Price: $40.00

Cost: $1.00


L.A.'s Everypresent Fullness represent one of those "what-if" cases. A talented pop-rock outfit, the group (singer/guitarist Tom Carvey, drummer Terry Hand, guitarist Paul Johnson, bassist Steve Pugh and multi-instrumentalist Jack Ryan ) came together in 1965. Quickly signed by White Whale Records (the label apparently looking for a new Turtles), starting with 1966's 'Wild About My Lovin'' b/w 'Fine and Dandy' the group released a string of three above average efforts. Unfortunately, creative and business differences with the label effectively killed the band's first album - White Whale shelving the project even though it was largely completed. 

Released four years later, 1970's "Everpresent Fullness" pulled together the band's three earlier singles, rounding the project out with five previously recorded efforts - several such as the instrumental 'Yeah!' coming off as little more than demos. Musically the set wasn't any great shakes. Featuring a mix of originals and cover material, the album's pop-rock sound recalled a cross between The Lovin' Spoonful and The Turtles (checkout their cover of John Sebastian's 'Wild About My Lovin''). As lead singer Carey had an engaging voice and tracks such as 'You're So Fine' and 'Leavin' California' offered up radio-friendly top-40 melodies. The set was also interesting for including an early Warren Zevon cover ('The Way She Is'). Less impressive was the band's penchant for quirky numbers; the vaudeville-styled 'Fine and Dandy' and the C&Wish 'My Girl Back Home'.  All-in-all not half bad, particularly if you can pick it up for a couple of bucks.

"Everpresent Fullness" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Fine and Dandy (Kay Smith) - 2:07
2.) You're So Fine (L. Finney - W. Scofield) - 2:27
3.) My Girl Back Home (Paul Johnson) - 2:25
4.) Yeah! (instrumental) (Tom Carvey - Terry Hand - Paul Johnson - Steve Pugh - Jack Ryan) - 2:34
5.) Leavin' California (Tom Carvey - Terry Hand - Paul Johnson - Steve Pugh - Jack Ryan) - 2:27

(side 2)

1.) Wild About My Lovin' (John Sebastian) - 2:40
2.) The Way She Is (Warren Zevon) - 2:23
3.) Darlin' You Count On Me (Terry Hand - Paul Johnson) - 2:25
4.) Doin' a Number (Sidney Queegue) - 2:18
5.) Rider (instrumental) (Tom Carvey - Terry Hand - Paul Johnson - Steve Pugh  - Jack Ryan) -2:00
6.) The Room (instrumental) (Paul Williams) - 2:25

Drummer Hand subsequently recorded with Thorinshield, The Moon and Rocket Science (see separate entries).


Back to Bad Cat homepage/search