Far Cry, A

Band members               Related acts

- Sean Hutchinson = bass (1969)
- Paul Lenart = guitar (1969)
- Larry Luddecke = keyboards (1969)
- Dick Martin = percussion, sax (1969)
- Victor McGill = drums, percussion, vibraphone (1969)
- David Perry = guitar, vocals (1969)
- Jere Whitting = vocals, harmonica (1969)




- none known




Genre: rock

Rating: *** (3 stars)

Title:  A Far Cry

Company: Vanguard Apostolic

Catalog: VSD-6510

Year: 1969

Country/State: Boston, Mass

Grade (cover/record): VG+/VG+

Comments: still in shrink wrap; original inner sleeve

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 639

Price: $70.00

Cost: $1.00


Geez, ever heard the phrase something is "an acquired taste"?  Well, it's certainly an applicable description for the Boston-based Far Cry.

An early entry to the horn-rock sweepstakes, this seven piece outfit featured the talents of bassist Sean Hutchinson, guitarist Paul Lenart, keyboard player Larry Luddecke, sax player Dick Martin, drummer Victor McGill, guitarist David Perry and singer Jere Whitting. Signed by the short-lived New York-based Vanguard Apostolic Records, the band's self-titled debut teamed them with producer Daniel Weiss. So what's 1969's "Far Cry" sound like? Imagine Blood, Sweat and Tears locked into a closet with Captain Beefheart and Quicksilver Messenger Service's John Cipollina... Largely original (the lone exception being a cover of Riley King's 'Sweet Little Angel'), the album featured a strange blend of jazz, fusion and psychedelic rock moves. While it may not have sounded particularly promising, the combination of styles was actually intriguing. Whiting's bizarre and wild voice (on tracks such as 'Shapes' and 'Hellhound' it sounded as if he were about to suffer a terminal stoke), Martin's free form sax (sometime it sounded as if he were reading the charts for a different song) and Lenart's fluid guitar (check out the introduction to 'Earthlight') made for an album we play on a regular basis. 

"A Far Cry" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Shapes (David Perry) - 4:30 
2.) Midnight Juice (Larry Luddecke - Jere Whiting) - 7:21 
3.) Dream? (Grossman - Victor McGill) - 9:53 
4.) Hellhound (Jere Whiting) - 3:44 

(side 1)

1.) Earthlight (instrumental) (Paul Lenart - David Perry) - 3:40 
2.) Sweet Little Angel (Riley King - Jules Taub) - 8:05 
3.) Listen to the Walls (Friedel - David Perry) - 6:50 

With the exception of a single ('Shapes' b/w 'Hellbound' Vanguard catalog number 35085), this seems to be the extent of their recording career.


Back to Bad Cat homepage/search