Firesign Theatre, The

Band members               Related acts

- Phil Austin - (1966-)

- Peter Bergman - (1966-)

- David Ossman - (1966-)

- Philip Proctor - (1966-)



- Phil Austin (solo efforts)

- David Ossman (solo efforts)

- Proctor and Bergman (Philip Proctor and Peter Bergman)





Genre: comedy

Rating: *** (3 stars)

Title:  Presents Waiting for the Electrician or Someone Like Him

Company: Columbia

Catalog: CS-9518

Year: 1968

Country/State: US

Grade (cover/record): VG/VG

Comments: minor ring wear; initials 'RHEG' on back cover

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4704

Price: $10.00

Cost: $66.00



The group's 1968 "Presents Waiting for the Electrician or Someone Like Him" debut gets lukewarm reviews from the critics, but I actually think it's one of their funnier efforts.  While a lot of the drug-oriented humor hasn't aged all that well ('Le Trent-Hit Cunegonde' - ah groovy hippies ...), the opener 'Temporarily Humbolt County' remains dead on-target with its social commentary on the way native American Indians have been treated.  Their retracing of American history through Indian eyes is hysterical and heartbreaking at the same time.  Based on some vague James Bond in Eastern Europe plotline, the 20 minute side two title track is far weaker and not particularly funny.  I guess it may have been quite a bit funnier if you were stoned while listening to it (which might help explain some of the group's mid-1060s popularity).


"Presents Waiting for the Electrician or Someone Like Him" track listing:
(side 1) 

1.) Temporarily Humbolt County   (Firesign Theatre) - 

2.) W.C. Fields Forever   (Firesign Theatre) - 

3.) Le Trent-Hit Cunegonde   (Firesign Theatre) - 


(side 2) 
1.) Waiting for the Electrician or Someone Like Him   (Firesign Theatre) - 



Genre: comedy

Rating: *** (3 stars)

Title:  Dear Friends

Company: Columbia

Catalog: KG-31099

Year: 1972

Country/State: US

Grade (cover/record): VG/VG

Comments: double LP; gatefold sleeve; minor ring wear; initials 'RHEG' on front cover

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4705

Price: $10.00

Cost: $66.00


Maybe its just me, but there I times I find these guys funny as all and then there are times that they strike me as a bunch of stoned morons.  


A double album set, 1972's "Dear Friends" featured a collection of 29 segments drawn from the group's 1971-72 era syndicated radio show.  This is supposedly the cream of their improvised material and while I'm too young to have been part of the group's original college audience,  I'll admit that some thirty years later much of this stuff doesn't strike me as being particularly funny.  There are a couple of exceptions - 'Driving for Dopers' and '' are mildly entertaining, but most of it just kind of hangs there.


"Dear Friends" track listing:
(side 1) 

A Religious Opening

1.) Toad Away   (Firesign Theatre) - 3:20

2.) Sodom and Jubilee   (Firesign Theatre) - 3:15

3.) Freezing Mr. Foster   (Firesign Theatre) - 2:38

4.) I was a Cock-Teaser Roosterama   (Firesign Theatre) - 3:05

5.) Deputy Dan Has No Friends   (Firesign Theatre) - 2:28

6.) The Someday Funnies   (Firesign Theatre) - 1:56

7.) A Funny Thing Happened On the Way To the Inquisition   (Firesign Theatre) - 1:38


(side 2) 
The T.V. Set

1.) The T.B. Guide   (Firesign Theatre) - 5:54

2.) 40 great Unclaimed Melodies   (Firesign Theatre) - 2:27

3.) The Chincilla Show   (Firesign Theatre) - 2:39

4.) Live from the Senate Bar (If You Call That Living!)   (Firesign Theatre) - 2:55

5.) Minority Street   (Firesign Theatre) - 1:10

6.) Dr. Whiplash   (Firesign Theatre) - 3:25


(side 3)
Animals, Vegetables & MInerals

1.) Echo Poem   (Firesign Theatre) - 2:02

2.) The Small Animal Administration   (Firesign Theatre) - 1:54

3.) The Giant Toad   (Firesign Theatre) - 1:04

4.) The T.V. Glide   (Firesign Theatre) - 3:34

5.) Balliol Bros   (Firesign Theatre) - -:45

6.) Poop's Principles   (Firesign Theatre) - 2:26

7.) International Youth-Sex On Parade   (Firesign Theatre) - 1:41

8.) Brickbreaking   (Firesign Theatre) - 2:03

9.) Coal   (Firesign Theatre) - 3:00


(side 4)
It's Sure Realistic!

1.) Duke of Madness Motors   (Firesign Theatre) - 1:23

2.) Mark Time!   (Firesign Theatre) - 3:52

3.) Driving for Dopers   (Firesign Theatre) - 4:29

4.) Praise the Hoove   (Firesign Theatre) - 2:22

5.) Bob's Brazerko Lounge   (Firesign Theatre) - 0-:57

6.) $100.00 Ben   (Firesign Theatre) - 3:19

7.) Sleep   (Firesign Theatre) - 1:07






Genre: comedy

Rating: *** (3 stars)

Title:  Forward Into the Past

Company: Columbia

Catalog: CGK-34391

Year: 1976

Country/State: US

Grade (cover/record): VG/VG

Comments: double LP; gatefold sleeve; minor ring wear; initials

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4761

Price: $15.00

Cost: $66.00


Drawn from the band's nine Columbia studio albums, 1976's "Forward Into the Past" is a double album, 18 track retrospective.  While long time fans will probably disagree with some of the selections, this actually provides a pretty good retrospective of their extensive catalog. The focus is on shorter pieces; the one exception being the 28 minute, side long 'The Further Adventures of Nick Danger' (drawn from 1969's "How Can You Be In Two Places at Once When You're Not Anywhere At All"). Most of the stuff stands up pretty good in isolation, with personal favorites including 'Beat the Reaper' and 'Dr. Whiplash'.  The album also includes the band's debut single 'Station Break' and 'Forward Into the Past'.

"Forward Into the Past" track listing:

(side 1) 

1.) Station Break

2.) Happy Hours News

3.) Ralph Spoilsport Motors

4.) Beat the Reaper

5.) Let's Eat

6.) High School Madness


(side 2) 
1.) Toad Away

2.) Not Quite the Solution He Expected

3.) Joe Meets the Hemlock Stones

4.) W.C. Fields Forever 

5.) Dr. Whiplash


(side 3)
1.) The Further Adventures of Nick Danger 


(side 4)
1.) Back from the Shadows

2.) Mr. President

3.) Papoon for President

4.) Government Training Film

5.) Mark Time

6.) Forward Into the Past



Back to Bad Cat homepage/search