Band members               Related acts

- Ted Ashford -- keyboards

- Eric Scott Filipowitz -- bass

- Barry Mraz -- drums, percussion

- Steve White -- vocals

- Bill Wukovich -- guitar, vocals



- none known



Genre: psych

Rating: **** (4 stars)

Title:  Forever Is a Dream

Company: Capitol

Catalog: ST-304

Year: 1969

Grade (cover/record): VG+ / VG+

Comments: still in shrink wrap; cut out hole in top right corner

Available: 2

Catalog ID: 4209

Price: $200.00

Cost: $111.60


This one's always been somewhat of a mystery to us.  First off, there doesn't seem to be a great deal of biographical info on these guys.  They certainly didn't leave behind an extensive catalog.  Besides, how come the cover shows four guys, while the liner notes and the back cover photo show the band to be a five piece ... who's missing on the cover?  


Chicago-based Food sported a line up consisting of keyboardist Ted Ashford, bassist Eric Scott Flipowitz, drummer Barry Mraz, singer Steve Whiteand guitarist Bill Wukovich.  If you subscribe to the popular story they were discovered by the same outfit that found Grand Funk Railroad.  Along with Grand Funk, they were signed by Capitol, but with Grand Funk generating strong sales, Capitol lost all interest in Food.


Produced by Ashford "Forever Is a Dream" is pretty darned impressive.  True, it may not be the year's most original offering, but with three of the five members contributing material, material such as the extended title track, "What It Seems To Be" and "Marbled Wings" is literally drenched in a dense and dreamy aura.  It's all wrapped up in a series of attractive melodies, intriguing lyrics, coupled with plenty of fuzz guitar, whacked out drumming and interesting bits of orchestration, including some surprisingly nice horn charts ("No").  Elsewhere, on material such as "Native Prayers" and "Fountains of My Mind" vocalist White sounds like he's been partying pretty hard.  Great headphone album !!!

"Forever Is a Dream" track listing:

(side 1)
1.) Forever Is a Dream   (Ted Ashford - Steve White - Bill Wukovich) - 5:49

2.) Native Prayers   (Bill Wukovich) - 4:45

3.) No   (Ted Ashfrod) - 2:43

4.) Lady Miss Ann   (Steve White - Bill Wukovich) - 3:03

5.) Fountains of My Mind   (Ted Ashford - Steve White) - 3:03

6.) Coming Back   (Steve White - Bill Wukovich) - 2:50


(side 2)
1.) What It Seems To Be   (Steve White) - 6:00

2.) Inside the Mirror   (Bill Wukovich) - 2:17

3.) Marbled Wings   (Bill Wukovich) - 2:10

4.) Traveling Light   (Ted Ashford - Steve White - Bill Wukovich) - 2:44

5.) Leaves   (Ted Ashford - Steve White) - 3:22

6.) Here We Go Again   (Steve White) - 3:58

Supposedly a couple of these songs were used in the soundtrack for the porn flick 'The Babysitters'.