Four Tops, The

Band members               Related acts

- Obie Benson - vocals

- Duke Fakir - vocals

- Lawrence Payton - vocals

- Levi Stubbs - vocals




- none known




Genre: soul

Rating: *** (3 stars)

Title:  Meeting of the Minds

Company: Dunhill

Catalog: DSD-50166

Year: 1974

Grade (cover/record): VG/VG

Comments: gatefold sleeve

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4112

Price: $7.50

Cost: $1.00

As a big Four Tops fan, I'll readily admit to being biased when it comes to their catalog.  While this certainly isn't their best or most consistent offerngs, it's certainly in the top-10 - though today it's all but forgotten.  Interestingly, having underscored their return to the pop charts with 1973's "Main Street People", one would have expected 1974's "Meeting of the Minds" to prove another big seller. Inexplicably it wasn't.  In spite of production from hit-makers Steve Barri, Dennis Lambert and Brian Potter, the overall feel was a little bit on the tired side.  The performances were never less than professional, but tracks such as "The Well Is Dry" and "" seemed a little on the rote side.  Luckily the Tops can't turn in an album without some winners.  Highlights include the rocking "One Chain Don't Make No Prison" (nice guitar from Larry Carlton), the breezy "Midnight Flower" (can anyone think of another Tops song about a lady of the evening?) and the driving title track.  The LP's also interesting in that Lawrence Payton got to showcase his attractive voice on three tracks, including the wonderful "Tell Me You Love Me (Love Sounds").


"Meeting of the Minds" track listing:

(side 1)

1.) One Chain Don't Make No Prison - 4:29

2.) Midnight Flower - 4:03

3.) The Well Is Dry - 3:48

4.) Love Ain't Easy To Come By - 3:38

5.) No Sad Song - 5:14


(side 2)

1.) Right On Brother - 4:05

2.) Tell Me You Love Me (Love Sounds) - 3:30

3.) All My Love - 4:29

4.) I Found the Spirit - 3:54

5.) Meeting of the Minds - 4:22 



Back to Bad Cat homepage/search