Band members               Related acts

- Max Byfuglin - vocals (1965-70)
- David Day - bass (1965-70)
- Dennis Devlin - guitar (1965-70)
- Jim Haas - vocals, keyboards (1965-70)
- Phil Gordo Head - drums (1965-70)
- Kim Sherman - guitar (1965-70)



- The Farm Band
- Nuclear Regulatory Commission


Genre: rock

Rating: *** (3 stars)

Title:  Conception

Company: Lizard

Catalog: A201038

Country/State: Billings, Montana

Year: 1970

Grade (cover/record): VG/VG

Comments: minor ring wear; gatefold sleeve

Available: SOLD


Price: SOLD

How many bands can you name that got their start in Billings, Montana?.

Formed in 1965 and originally known as The Frantics (note the plural), this six piece bounced all over the country. Leaving Montana, the mid-1960s found them alternately calling Santa Fe, New Mexico, Colorado Springs, Colorado and Los Angeles, California their home.

A mid-1960s single for the small Sunco label ("Route 66" b/w "La Do Da Da") vanished without a trace and by 1971 the band found themselves poised for the big time having signed to the newly formed Ampex-affiliated Lizard label. Produced by Stan Farber, "Conception" offered up a rather conventional set of guitar rock. A standard mix of originals and cover material, Max Byfuglin proved a competent, if under whelming lead singer (his penchant for mush mouth deliveries was an acquired taste). Similarly, the band's rock moves were professional, if seldom awe striking. Among the highlights were their molasses speed cover of 'Hey Joe', 'More of a Man' (reflecting a touch of psychedelic guitar) and the guitar-propelled 'Her and Her Mountain'.  Elsewhere the dayglo gatefold sleeve was certainly cool.

"Conception" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Baby   (Westlake - Shuman) - 3:10
2.) Wicked Woman   (Max Byfuglin - Kim Sherman) - 3:15
3.) Scitnarf   (Max Byfuglin) - 1:57
4.) Hey Joe   (Roberst - Dino Valenti) - 5:12
5.) More of a Man   (Fergus) - 3:47

(side 2)

1.) Little Girl   (Van Morrison) - 2:56
2.) Shady Sam   (Max Byfuglin) - 3:45
3.) Her and Her Mountain   (Kim Sherman - Dennis Devlin) - 2:34
4.) Morning Dew   (Dobson) - 4:00
5.) Midnight To Six Man   (D. Taylor - Phil May) - 4:03

The band subsequently metamorphosed into The Farm Band (see separate entry).





Back to Bad Cat homepage/search