Freak Scene

Band members               Related acts

- Mark Barkan - 

- Rusty Evans - 



- The Deep (Mark Barkan and Rusty Evans)

- Marcus (Rusty Evans)





Genre: psych

Rating: *** (3 stars)

Title:  Psychedelic Psoul

Company: Columbia

Catalog: CL-2656

Year: 1968

Country/State: US

Grade (cover/record): VG / VG

Comments: mono pressing; neatly taped bottom seam

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4812

Price: $40.00

Cost: $32.00


Having enjoyed some success with their 1966 studio project The Deep, the following year the song writing/performing team of Mark Barkan and Rusty Evans decided to take another stab at making some money off of the public's growing interest in psychedelia and political activism.  Signed by Columbia, the duo pulled together most of the studio pros who'd worked with them on the earlier project (reportedly including guitarist David Bromberg), resulting in the release "Psychedelic Psoul".  


A lot of critics have labeled this as nothing more than a sophomore The Deep release.  There are clearly similarities between the two albums, but I'll tell you that (contrary to popular opinion) I think The Freak Scene project is the stronger of the two.  Material such as 'The Subway Ride Thru Inner Space', 'Butterfly Dream' and 'My Rainbow Life' offered up a great mixture of over-the-top psych lyrics, stoned vocals and wild studio production effects.  The biggest difference with the earlier album was that tracks such as '... When In the Course of Human Events (Draft Beer, Not Students)' and 'Behind the Mind' added a bit of social and political commentary to the acid-drenched mix.  It may be an exploito offering, but it's first rate exploito and is actually better than 75% of the non-exploito competition. 


'Psychedelic Psoul" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) A Million Grains of Sand   (Rusty Evans) - 

2.) ... When In the Course of Human Events (Draft Beer, Not Students)   (David Bromberg - David Rubinson - Rusty Evans) - 

3.) Interpolation: We Shall Overcome   (Z. Horton - F. Hamilton - G. Carawan - Pete Seger) - 

4.) Rose of Smiling Faces   (Rusty Evans) - 

5.) Behind the Mind   (A. Geller - Rusty Evans) - 

6.) The Subway Ride Thru Inner Space   (Rusty Evans) - 

7.) Butterfly Dream   (D. Blackhurst - L. Pogan - Rusty Evans) - 


(side 2)
1.) My Rainbow Life   (Rusty Evans - Teddy Randazzo - V. Pike) - 

2.) The Center of My Soul   (Rusty Evans) - 

3.) Watered Down Soul   (Rusty Evans - D. Blackhurst) - 

4.) Red Roses Will Weep   (Rusty Evans - D. Blackhurst) - 

5.) Mind Bender   (Rusty Evans - D. Blackhurst) - 

6.) Grok! (instrumental)   (Rusty Evans) - 


One single from the album 'A Million Grains of Sand' b/w 'Behind the Mind' (Columbia catalog number 4-44056) and the project was over.


Back to Bad Cat homepage/search