Free Movement, The

Band members               Related acts

- Josephine Brown - vocals (1971-73)

- Godoy Colbert - vocals (1971-73)

- Cheryl Conley - vocals (1971-73)

- Jennifer Gates - vocals (1971-73)

- Adrian Jefferson - vocals (1971-73)

- Claude Jefferson - vocals (1971-73)





- The Cufflinks (Godoy Colbert)

- The Exits (Godoy Colbert)

- The Five Bells of Joy (Josephine Brown)

- The Pilgrim Travellers (Godoy Colbert)

- The Pharoahs (Godoy Colbert)

 The Tripps (Godoy Colbert)

- The Visitors (Godoy Colbert)




Genre: soul

Rating: *** (3 stars)

Title:  I've Found Someone of My Own

Company: Columbia

Catalog: KC-31136

Year: 1971

Country/State: L.A., California

Grade (cover/record): VG+/VG+

Comments: textured cover

Available: SOLD

GEMM catalog ID: SOLD

Price: SOLD

Cost: $66.00


Geez, these guys had one of the biggest hits of the early-1970s and I'd completely forgotten the song until I heard the chorus - 


Formed in Los Angeles, these folks seem to have stolen a page out of The 5th Dimension guide to success.  Espousing a distinctively commercial sound with plenty of MOR touches, the group featured the talents of Josephine Brown,  Godoy Colbert, Cheryl Conley, Jennifer Gates and brothers Adrian and Claude Jefferson.  Brown and Colbert both had a Gospel background; Brown having sung with The Five Bells of Joy, while Colbert had been a member of both The Pilgrim Travellers and The Pharoahs.


Signed by Decca, the group's 1971 debut 'I've Found Someone of My Own' b/w 'Convince My Heart' (Decca catalog number 32818) quickly went top-5 pop and top-20 R&B.  In an interesting move Columbia apparently bought out their contract, rushing the group into the recording studio to cut a support album. 


Produced by Toxey French (Michael Omartian credited as co-producer), 1971's "I've Found Someone of My Own" stands as the perfect example of early-1970s California soul.  Smooth male/female harmonies, lush orchestration and radio-friendly melodies made for a distinctive resemblance to The 5th Dimension (who probably would have killed for a song as good as the title track).  Smooth and highly commercial, material such as 'If Only You Believe' (which would have made a dandy single in its own right), 'Coming Home' and 'Could You Believe In a Dream' is probably best described as supper club soul.  That may sound like a slam, but it isn't meant as such.  Blessed with at least four top notch singers, with the exception of the over-the-top 'Land Where I Live' most of this stuff was top caliber pop.  Elsewhere, 'The Harder I Try' b/w 'Comin' Home' (Columbia catalog number 4-45512) was released as a follow-on single.   

"I've Found Someone of My Own" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) I've Found Someone of My Own   (F. Robinson) - 3:44

2.) Land Where I Live   (B. Flemister - H. Hilton) - 2:58

3.) Son of the Zulu King   (C. Carlton) - 5:04

4.) If Only You Believe   (Dennis Lambert - Brina Potter) - 2:47

5.) Love the One Your With   (Stephen Stills) - 3:45


(side 2)

1.) The Harder I Try (The Bluer I Get)   (F. Robinson) - 3:26

2.) Comin' Home   (F. Robinson) - 2:58

3.) I Know I Could Love You Better (The Second Time Around)   (B. Arvon) - 3:21

4.) Your Love Has Grown Cold   (Michael Omartian) - 2:35

5.) Could You Believe In a Dream   (Al Jarreau) -4:16

6.) Where Do We Go From Here   (M. Settle) - 3:41


One more non-LP 45 - 1973's  'I Can't Move No Mountains' b/w 'Every Step of the Way' (Columbia catalog number 4-45778) and the group was history.




Back to Bad Cat homepage/search