Gibbons, Steve

Band members               Related acts

- Dave Carroll - lead guitar

- Steve Gibbons - vocals

- Bob Lamb - drums

- Bob Wilson - lead guitar



- Balls (Steve Gibbons)

- Bronco (Robbie Blunt)

- The Uglys (Steve Gobbons)





Genre: rock

Rating: **** (4 stars)

Title:  Rollin' On

Company: MCA

Catalog: MCA-2243

Year: 1974

Country/State: Birmingham, UK

Grade (cover/record): VG/VG

Comments: cut lower right corner

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4680

Price: $8.00

Cost: $66.00


As an 'Army brat' living in Europe during the mid-1970s I listened to hours and hours of radio.  Radio Caroline and the pirate stations that broadcast from the English Channel were favorites for the incredibly diverse selection of music (at least by American standards) they played.  Listening to those stations, one of my personal discoveries was The Steve Gibbons Band.  


Critics have labeled Gibbons as the English Bob Seger, but such a comparison is little more than superficial, doing credit to neither party.  The two share a love for basic, no frills rock and roll but that's pretty much where the comparisons end.  


Produced by Ken Laguna, 1977's "Rollin' On" is simply prime Gibbons and stands as one of my all time favorite albums.  Credited with penning twelve of the 14 tracks, original material such as 'Light Up Your Face', 'Please Don't Say Goodbye' and a live 'Tupelo Mississippi Flash' showcased Gibbons' knack for crafting material that was tuneful, commercial, yet rocked with an intensity that's all but absent from music these days.  How could songs like 'Wild Flowers' and 'Low Down Man' not have garnered top-40 airplay?  Other highlights included the atypical country-flavored 'Now You Know Me' and the gorgeous ballad 'Till the Well Runs Dry'.  Interestingly, the album's lone cover of Chuck Berry's 'Tulane' provided Gibbon's with an unexpected UK hit ('Tulane' b/w 'Now You Know Me' (Polydor catalog number 2058 889).  A follow-up single 'Tupelo Mississippi Flash' b/w 'Till the Fire Burns Out' (Polydor catalog number 2058 940) didn't do as well.  In the States the album did nothing commercially.

"Rollin' On" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Wild Flowers   (Steve Gibbons) - 4:09

2.) Light Up Your Face   (Steve Gibbons)  - 3:07

3.) Now You Know Me   (Steve Gibbons)  - 3:36

4.) Mr. Jones   (Steve Gibbons) - 4:33

5.) Till the Well Runs Dry   (Steve Gibbons) - 4:13

6.) Tulane   (Chuck Berry) - 2:52


(side 2)
1.) Low Down Man   (Steve Gibbons) - 3:06

2.) Till the Fire Burns Out   (Steve Gibbons) - 3:00

3.) Cross Me Over the Road   (Steve Gibbons)  - 3:13

4.) Right Side of Heaven   (Steve Gibbons)  - 0:55

5.) Rollin On   (Steve Gibbons)  - 3:53

6.) Please Don't Say Goodbye   (Steve Gibbons) - 3:07

7.) Tupelo Mississippi Flash   (Jerry Reed) - 4:39

8.) Rounden (instrumental)   (Steve Gibbons)  - 0:19




Back to Bad Cat homepage/search