Giguere, Russ

Band members               Related acts

- Russ Giguere - vocals, guitar



The Association




Genre: rock

Rating: ** (2 stars)

Title:  Hexagram 16

Company: Warner Brothers

Catalog: WS 1910

Year: 1971

Country/State: --

Grade (cover/record): VG/VG+

Comments: promo white label copy; radio station timing strip on cover

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 2363

Price: $35.00

Cost: $66.00


As big Association fans, this album came as a major surprise to us.  Not so much for the musical content, rather the fact we simply didn't know it existed.  Someone in an internet chat group we belong to mentioned the LP and we quickly dug up a copy. 


One of the original members of The Association, singer/songwriter Russ Giguere was also one of the first members to bail from the group.  Shortly after the release of 1970 "The Association Live", Giguere tendered his notice, striking out in pursuit of a solo career.  Signed by Warner Brothers (which was coincidently The Association's label), Giguere made his solo debut with 1970's "Hexagram 16" (the title apparently a reference to the Chinese character YŁ symbolizing enthusiasm, or eagerness).  Co produced by Giguere and John Boylan, for anyone expecting to hear a set of Association-styled MOR ballads, the album will come as a minor surprise.  Sure, "Now We Begin" starts the LP with an Association-styled MORish ballad, but from there on the album's quite diverse and surprisingly attractive.  Tracks such as "Ridge Rider", "Rosarita Beach Cafe", "Let It Flow" found Giguere aptly exploring Byrds/Flying Burrito Brothers-styled country rock.  The results were pretty, though not particularly original.  At least to our ears, Giguere was far more impressive on up tempo rockers such as "Brother Speed" (written and previously recorded by Boylan and Appletree Theater), "In New Germany" and a nifty remake of "Shop Around".  Elsewhere, "My Plan" recalled something out of the Procol Harum catalog, while "Pegasus" came off as an over bloated stab at pretentiousness.  Among others, backing vocalist Merry Clayton, keyboardist Larry Knechtel, guitarist Bernie Leadon, keyboardist Spooner Oldham, and Bobby Womack made for one of the year's more impressive list of guest musicians.  Unfortunately, the LP did little commercially.  Pulled as a single "Let It Flow" b/w "In New Germany" (Warner Brothers catalog number 7508) followed the LP into commercial oblivion.


"Hexagram 16" track listing:

(side 1)

1.) Now We Begin - 2:51

2.) Brother Speed   (John Boylan - Terry Boylan) -3:40

3.) Ridge Rider - 3:15

4.) My Plan - 4:35

5.) In New Germany - 2:34


(side 2)

1.) Rosarita Beach Cafe - 3;52

2.) Lover's Prayer - 2:09

3.) Let It Flow - 3:46

4.) Ship Around - 3:18

5.) Pegasus - 3:29


Giguere subsequently formed The Beechwood Rangers with Bill Martin and Warren Zevon.



Back to Bad Cat homepage/search