Glitterhouse, The

Band members               Related acts

- Hank Aberle - vocals (1968)
- Michael Gayle - vocals (1968)
- Al Lax - (1968)
- Moogy Klingman - kyeboards (1968)
- Joel "Bishop" O'Brien - drums, percussion (1968)



- Flying Machine (Joel O'Brien)
- Jo Mama (Joel O'Brien)
- Utopia (Moogy Klingman)


Genre: rock

Rating: **** (4 stars)

Title:  Color Blind

Company: DynoVoice

Catalog: DY 31905

Year: 1968


Grade (cover/record): VG+/VG+

Comments: still in shrink wrap; opened and played one; saw cut top right

Available: 1

GEMM Catalog ID: not yet listed

Price: $50.00


Here's another one we have to admit not knowing much about ... 

Managed by Marty Erlichman, The Glitterhouse featured the talents of Hank Aberle, singer Michael Gayle, Al Lax, keyboard player Moogy Klingman and drummer Joel "Bishop" O'Brien. Signed to a performing and recording contract by Bob Crewe (of Four Seasons fame), their sole LP was produced by Crewe for his DynoVoice label. With Gayle penning all nine tracks, 1968's "Color Blind" was musically diverse - occasionally even bordering on the schizophrenic. Exemplified by material such as "Tinkerbell's Mind", "Princess of the Gingerland" and "Child of Darkness (Journey of a Child Traveler)" the "A" side was full of trippy lyrics surrounded by shimmering melodies and tight group harmonies ("Sassafrass and Cinnamon"). In contrast, most of the flip side found the band taking an enjoyable stab at top-40 blue-eyed soul ("I Lost Me a Friend" and "Hey Woman"). At least a couple of reference works have drawn comparisons with Procol Harum. While organs are prominent with both groups, to our ears it's a poor comparison; Glitterhouse's sound far lighter and more commercial. In case you were wondering, the LP vanished without a trace. (The set was originally released with a cool foil cover.)

"Color Blind" track listing:
1.) Tinkerbell's Mind (Michael Gayle) - 4:43
2.) Princess of the Gingerland (Michael Gayle) - 4:24
3.) Sassafrass and Cinnamon (Michael Gayle) - 4:16
4.) Child of Darkness (Journey of a Child Traveler) (Michael Gayle) - 4:22
5.) I Lost Me a Friend (Michael Gayle) - 4:19
6.) Times Are Getting Hard (Michael Gayle) - 3:50
7.) Where Have You Been Hiding (Michael Gayle) - 2:25
8.) Hey Woman (Michael Gayle) - 3:55
9.) Happy To Have You Here Again (Michael Gayle) - 3:25

The band also contributed material to the "Barbarella" soundtrack (DynoVoice catalog DY-31908). 

O'Brien subsequently reappeared as a member of Jo Mama (see separate entry).





Back to Bad Cat homepage/search