Band members               Related acts

- Ted Barbella -- organ

- Norm Conrad -- bass

- Jerry Gilbert -- drums, percussion

- Dennis Jason -- lead guitar

- Steve Jason -- vocals


  supporting musician:

- Tom Aherns -- special effects, backing vocals




- none known





Genre: rock

Rating: 2 stars **

Title:  Goliath

Company: ABC

Catalog: ABCS-702
Year: 1969

Country/State: Pennsylvania ?

Grade (cover/record): VG / VG+

Comments: minor ring wear; gatefold sleeve; promo sticker on back cover

Available: 1

Catalog ID: 6116

Price: $25.00


ABC released scores and scores of late-1960s/early-1970s albums that generated little or no attention.  'Course most of them weren't particularly memorable, which is the basic story behind Goliath (not to be confused with the Terre Haute, Indiana-based band).


Showcasing the talents of keyboardist Ted Barbella, bassist Norm Conrad, drummer Jerry Gilbert, lead guitarist Dennis Jason, and lead singer Steve Jason, I'm guessing these guys were from the Philadelphia area given their sole LP was recorded at Sigma Studios with production from the team of Mann, Segall, and Lowe.  Released in 1969, the cleverly-titled "Goliath" has always reminded me of a hybrid of Blood, Sweat and Tears and Vanilla Fudge.  That comparison was based on the fact most of these ten tracks (divided between band originals and covers), wallowed in the same organ-heavy, molten rock stylings or The Fudge,.  At least to my ears Steve Jason had a voice that sounded very much like David Clayton-Thomas.  That meant he had some vocal chops at his disposal, but also suffered from the same tendency to shriek and turn histronic ('Yesterday's Children' and '').  Definitely gonna be a major turnoff to some folks ...  The rest of the band members were proficient, but with the exception of an occasional stab of Fudge-styled keyboards from Barbella, they were pretty anonymous.  


- One of three tracks co-written by Barbella, 'Yesterday's Children' had that Fudge-styled heaviness that you either love, or hate with a passion.  Propelled by Jason's rugged voice, this one was clearly intended to underscore the band's reputation as a 'serious' outfit, but today the results come off as over-the-top and outright pompous.  The brief highlight came in the form of  Dennis Jason's short, stabbing fuzz guitar solo.  Should have let him have a little more spotlight time ...    rating: ** stars

- 'Can't Stop Feeling Lonely' was a pretty ballad, that would have been even better had Jason been able to handle the vocal with a bit more subtlty.  As it was, this one could have been mistaken for a David Clayton-Thomas solo effort (not a good thing).    rating: ** stars

- Be interesting to know it Curtis Mayfield ever heard this cover of his song ...   I suspect he wouldn't have been all that thrilled with this overwrought, gut wrenching version.  I sure wasn't.     rating: ** stars

- I remember listening the mid-tempo 'Time and Time Again; three times in a row and being unable to remember anything about it other than the female backing singers ...    rating: * star

- So remember this album was recorded during the height of Vietnam so I'm guessing this was intended as the band's comment on the conflict.  Built on the traditional hymn, complete with martial drums, this one added stabbing organ, war sound effects, a spoken word segment, and kind of a jazzy mid-section to make it mildly entertaining.  Imagine Vanilla Fudge doing an anti-war song and you'll have a feel for this one.   rating: ** stars

- Hum, all hyperbole aside, side two's extended cover of The Beatles 'Eleanor Rigby' may stand as one of the worst Fab Four covers I've ever stumbled across.  Is it possible to record something that's uber-heavy?  Well, if so, these guys managed to do it, turning what was originally a slightly pompous slice of social commentary into a mind-numbing slice of social commentary.  Yeah, this one managed to make Vanilla Fudge sound like a bubblegum pop outfit ...   rating: ** stars

- Not that it was a great pop song by any stretch of the imagination, but after some of the earlier efforts 'Come with Me (To My World)' at least showed a semblance of a lighter, more radio friendly sound.  rating: *** stars  

- As a huge Otis Redding fan I've always thought his version of 'Loving You Too Long' was a bit on the over-the-top side.  The seemingly endless Goliath version made me revisit that contention.  Once again, with this arrangement these guys managed to turn a classic soul song into a funeral dirge.   Please make him stop woman ...  rating: ** stars

- Wow, the soul-tinged  'Are You Lonely For Me Baby?' had some of the worst backing vocals I've ever heard.  On a positive note Dennis Jason's brief fuzz guitar solo was nice.  Wonder why he wasn't given more time in the spotlight ...    rating: ** stars

- The line group original, 'Jacksonville Express' was little more than a minute's worth of train sound effects.  Hardly a song ...   rating: * star


Well, the bright psychedelic cover was kind of cool ...


"Goliath" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Yesterday's Children   (Steve D'Amico - Ted Barbella) - 5:55

2.) Can't Stop Feeling Lonely   (Rusty Richards) - 3:00

3.) Man's Temptation   (Curtis Mayfield) - 4:30

4.) Time and Time Again   (Eddie Ray) - 3:15

5.) If Johnny Comes Marching Home   (Steve D'Amico - Ted Barbella) - 4:15


(side 2)
1.) Eleanor Rigby   (John Lennon - Paul McCartney) - 5:55

2.) Come with Me (To My World)   (Steve D'Amico - Ted Barbella) - 3:05

3.) Loving You Too Long  (Otis Redding) - 6:25

4.) Are You Lonely For Me Baby?   (Bert Berns) - 3:00

5.) Jacksonville Express   (Ted Barbella - Norm Conrad - Jerry Gilbert - Dennis Jason - Steve Jason) - 1:00