Hardin / York

Band members                              Related acts

  line up 1 (1969)

- Vic Flick -- lead guitar

- Herbie Flowers -- bass 

- Eddie Hardin -- vocals, keyboards

- Ron Hills -- cornet 

- Mike Hurst -- lead guitar

- Rex Morrissey -- sax (1

- Mel Thorpe -- woodwinds

- Peter York -- vocals, drums, percussion




- Axis Point

- Eddie Hardin (solo efforts)

- Hardin & York with Charlie McCracken

- Hardin, York & Fenwick

- Hardin, York & Charlie McCracken

The Spencer Davis Group (Eddie Hardin and Peter York)

- Taste (Charlie McCracken)

- Peter York's Percussion Band






Genre: rock

Rating: 2 stars **

Title:  Tomorrow Today

Company: Bell

Catalog: 6043

Year: 1969

Country/State: UK

Grade (cover/record): VG+/VG+

Comments: --

Available: 1

Catalog ID: 5209

Price: $50.00


If they're known to American audiences at all, keyboardist Eddie Hardin and drummer Peter York are probably associated with their late-inning, post-Stevie Winwood membership in The Spencer Davis Group. The pair bailed out of Spencer Davis following the release of 1968's "Heavies", electing to continue their working partnership as the cleverly named Hardin/York.


The first time I heard 1969's Mike Hurst produced "Tomorrow Today" I mistook it for something by Spooky Tooth, Procol Harum, or Traffic.  Blame my confusion on Hardin whose voice occasional recalled that of Gary Wright ('Tomorrow Today') or the fact Hardin-penned tracks like '100 Years from Now' and 'I'm Lost' sported a reflective, pseudo-jazzy sound reminiscent of "John Barleycorn"-era Traffic.  Since I'm a big Traffic fan that comparison wasn't meant as a criticism; rather a nod to the old saying imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. If the entire album had followed that path, it would have been a major find, but 'Drinking My Wine and the instrumental 'Mountains of Sand' found the duo falling into mindless and far less interesting jazz-tinged jams.  Highlights to my ears were 'Candlelight' and the bluesy 'Can't Keep a Good Man Down'.  The album certainly won't appeal to everyone, particularly anyone looking for acid dripping psych performances.  On the other hand, if the Traffic comparisons strike a chord, this might be up your alley.  Elsewhere York's song-by-song back cover liner notes were interesting.


"Tomorrow Today" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Tomorrow Today   (Eddie Hardin - Peter York) - 

2.) 100 Years from Now   (Eddie Hardin - Peter York) - 

3.) I'm Lost   (Eddie Hardin - Peter York) - 

4.) Drinking My Wine   (Eddie Hardin - Peter York) - 


(side 2)
1.) Candlelight   (Eddie Hardin - Peter York) - 

2.) Beautiful Morning   (Eddie Hardin - Peter York) - 

3.) Mountains of Sand (instrumental)   (Eddie Hardin - Peter York) - 

4.) Can't Keep a Good Man Down   (Eddie Hardin - Peter York) - 

5.) Listen Everyone    (Eddie Hardin - Peter York) -