Husker Du

Band members                             Related acts

  line up 1 (1979-88)

- Grant Hart - vocals, drums, percussion

- Bob Mould - vocals, guitar

- Greg Norton - bass



- Grant Hart (solo efforts)

- Nova Mob (Grant Hart)

- Bob Mould (solo efforts)

- Sugar (Bob Mould)





Genre: rock

Rating: **** (4 stars)

Title:  Warehouse: Songs and Stories

Company: Warner Brothers

Catalog: 25544-1

Year: 1987

Country/State: St. Paul, Minnesota

Grade (cover/record): VG+/VG+

Comments: double LP set

Available: 1

Catalog ID: 4383

Price: $20.00

Cost: $66.00


1987's "Warehouse: Songs and Stories" was recorded amidst growing internal creative, personal and lifestyles tensions between Grant and Mould.  The pair's insistence on releasing another double LP did little to please executives at Warner Brothers who were dead set against the project. 


Co-produced by the pair the album featured ten songs from each of the two.  In doing so the collection actually sounded more like two separate acts that have been packaged together, which was largely the case.  Like most double album sets, this one has it's share of successes and failures.  Creatively it isn't a major change in direction for the pair, though there are a couple of unexpected musical surprises, including Mould's weird sea chantey-styled rocker 'She Floated Away'.  In an interview discussing the album, Mould himself indicated it was a challenging work: "It's a very subtle record; it takes a long time to get used to the material. It took *me* a long time to get used to the material, once it was all ordered and sequenced and mixed. It's not an easy record--there's no songs that jump out and say..."I know you." It's a lot deeper record than it may appear to be on the surface."  At least to my ears sonically the album's interesting in that material such as 'These Important Years', 'Charity, Chastity, Prudence and Hope' and ''Back from Somewhere' sports a really thick sound - imagine the aural equivalent to a humid summer evening.  Far more produced than earlier material (geez there's even multi-tracking here), the set had to have been a major surprise to longstanding fans.  Musically the set's surprisingly commercial with both principles finding an pleasant blend between pop structures and tougher punk-ish moves - anyone laughing at the use of the word commercial need only check out Mould's 'Could You Be the One', the folky 'No Reservations', Hart's top-40 ready Too Much Spice'', or the power rocker 'Standing In the Rain' (wow, harmony vocals !!!).  (Strange, but complete with odd lyrics, a winning melody and sweet harmonies, the first time I heard 'Ice Cold Ice' I swore it was REM.)   


The album generated largely positive reviews, but as the pair were about to head back onto the road longtime manager David Savoy committed suicide.  With Grant developing a nasty heroin addiction while Mould basically cleaned up his act, by early the year the pair had effectively gone their separate creative ways.  Depending on who you listen to, Hart either quit or was fired, with Mould subsequently formally dissolving the band.

"Warehouse: Songs and Stories" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) These Important Years   (Bob Mould) - 3:49

2.) Charity, Chastity, Prudence and Hope   (Grant Hart) - 3:11

3.) Standing In the Rain   (Bob Mould) - 3:41

4.) Back from Somewhere   (Grant Hart) - 2:16

5.) Ice Cold Ice   (Bob Mould) - 4:23


(side 2)
1.) You're a Soldier    (Grant Hart)- 3:03

2.) Could You Be the One   (Bob Mould) - 2:32

3.) Too Much Spice   (Grant Hart) - 2:57

4.) Friend, You've Got To Fall   (Bob Mould) - 3:20

5.) Visionary   (Bob Mould) - 2:30

6.) She Floated Away   (Grant Hart) - 3:32


(side 3)

1.) Bed of Nails   (Bob Mould) - 4:44

2.) Tell You Tomorrow    (Grant Hart) - 2:42

3.) It's Not Peculiar   (Bob Mould) - 4:06

4.) Actual Condition   (Grant Hart) - 1:50


(side 4)

1.) No Reservations   (Bob Mould) - 3:40

2.) Turn It Around   (Bob Mould) - 4:32

3.) She's a Woman (And Now He's a Man)   (Grant Hart) - 3:19

4.) Up In the Air   (Bob Mould) - 3:03

5.) You Can Live At Home   (Grant Hart) - 5:25