Japser Wrath

Band members               Related acts

- Robert Gennette - 
- Chris Hawke - 
- Michael Soldan - 
- Philip Stoltie -   



- ArcAngel (Jeff Cannata)
- Canata (Jeff Cannata)
- House of Lords (James Christian)




Genre: psych

Rating: *** (3 stars)

Title:  Japer Wrath

Company: Sunflower

Catalog: SNF 5003

Year: 1971

Country/State: Hamden, Connecticut

Grade (cover/record): VG/VG

Comments: minor ring, edge and corner wear; cut corner (see photo); includes rare lyric sheet insert

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4

Price: $100.00

Cost: $1.00


During their short recording career, Hamden, Connecticut's Jasper Wrath (Robert Gennette, Chris Hawke, Michael Soldan and Philip Stoltie - the limited liner notes don't provided a clue as to who played what), managed to release one instantly obscure 45 ('Did You Know That' b/w 'It's Up To You', Sunflower catalog number SNF 5003) and an equally rare 1971 album. That's unfortunate since their album's a largely undiscovered treat.

First off, we'll be honest and tell you this is one of those releases that didn't grab us the first time we listened to it. Occasional woodwinds made it a little too laidback and mellow for our tastes ... That said, having spun it a couple of times, it's become a personal favorite. 

Signed by MGM's short-lived Sunflower subsidiary, the quartet's self-titled 1971 debut features an entertaining hybrid of commercial, lite-psychedelic and occasional progressive moves. Produced by Joey Levine (probably explaining the commercial edge), Jim Carroll and the band, "Jasper Wrath" wasn't exactly the year's most original offering. On the other hand, the collection was full of strong melodies (imagine Gentle Giant had they gone in a more mainstream direction, or America had they gone for a progressive sound), some wonderful harmony work ('Autumn') and more than it's share of tasty guitar ('Mysteries (You Can Find Out)'). Highlights included the rocker 'Did You Know That' and the extended, progressive workout 'Roland of Montevere'. (The album was originally released with a lyric insert. Yes, our copy has the insert.)

"Jasper Wrath" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Look To the Sunrise (Jeff Cannata - Philip Stoltie) - 2:55
2.) Mysteries (You Can Find Out) (Jeff Cannata) - 3:50
3.) Autumn (Michael Soldan - Jeff Cannata) - 4:45
4.) Odyssey (Jeff Cannata - Philip Stoltie) - 7:10

(side 1)

1.) Did You Know That (Wrath - Joey Levine) - 2:55
2.) Drift Through Our Cloud (Wrath - Philip Stoltie) - 3:30
3.) Portrait: My Lady Angelina (Michael Soldan - Jeff Cannata) - 5:00
4.) Roland of Montevere (Giannotti - Michael Soldan - Jeff Cannata) - 9:50



Back to Bad Cat homepage/search