Jazz Butcher, The

Band members               Related acts

- Jazz Butcher (aka Butch, aka Pat Fish, aka Pat Huntrod)

  - vocals, guitar

- Max Eider - guitar (1982-)

- Richard Formby - guitar (1990)

- Alex Green - sax (1990)

- Paul Mulreany - drums, backing vocals (1990)

- Laurence O'Keefe - bass, backing vocals

- Kizzy O'Callaghan - guitar (1982-1990)



- Max Eider (solo efforts)

- Jazz Butcher and His Sikkorskis from Hell

- Jazz Butcher vs. Max Eider

- Jazz Butcher Conspiracy




Genre: rock

Rating: *** (3 stars)

Title:  Cult of the Basement

Company: Rough Trade

Catalog: MUSE 83-1

Year: 1990

Country/State: UK

Grade (cover/record): NM/NM

Comments: was sealed; still in shrink wrap

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4653

Price: $10.00

Cost: $66.00


Under various guises Pat Fish (aka Butch, aka The Jazz Butcher) has recorded more material than the collective output of some small countries.  In spite of having accumulated a massive recording catalog, he's largely unknown in the States.


Fish's one of those artists who I just can't figure out.  He's immensely talented and as reflected on this album, capable of working a wide variety of musical genres.  At the same time, that very diversity makes you wonder if he has a shred of originality in his bones ...  it all sounds like something you've heard before.  By my count, 1990's "Cult of the Basement" is at least his 7th release under The Jazz Butcher moniker (not counting peripheral group outings).  Here's what Fish had to say about the album: "If things seemed weird back in February 1989, when we made this baby, the Weird were going shopping on bikes. In a farmhouse in the dead of winter, in personal circumstances too bizarre and complex to relate, we set about making our "commercial suicide" album. For the first time, I felt, we had made an album that really sounded like us. This record does have personality. One of my favourites, this."  So what do I think of it?  Well, lyrically material such as 'Daycare Nation' and 'Mr. Odd' is pretty dark (guitarist Kizzy O'Callaghan was diagnoised with a brain tumor during the recording session), but musically the set's diverse beyond comprehension.  The leadoff instrumental 'The Basement' sounds like something written for a James Bond soundtrack. 'She's On Drugs' is one of the weirdest and catchiest pop songs you'll hear this year.  'Pineapple Tuesday' has some jangle guitar to kill for.   etc., etc.   Really interesting and worth checking out if you've never encountered the group.  

"Cult of the Basement" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) The Basement (instrumental)

2.) She's On Drugs

3.) Pineapple Tuesday

4.) The Onion Field

5.) Daycare Nation

6.) My Zeppelin


(side 2)
1.) Mister Odd

2.) After the Great Euphrates (instrumental)

3.) Panic In Room 109

4.) Girl Go

5.) Turtle Bait

6.) Sister Death




Back to Bad Cat homepage/search