Band members               Related acts

- Michael Gabriellov -- bass
- Robb Huxley -- guitar
- Haim Romano -- lead guitar
- Danny Shoshan - vocals
- Ami Treibich - dr-ums


- The Churchills
- Jericho Jones


Genre: rock

Rating: **** (4 stars)

Title:  Jericho

Company: A&M

Catalog: AMLS 68079

Year: 1972

Grade (cover/record): VG / VG

Country/State: Israel

Comments: minor ring wear; light crease bottom right corner

Available: 1

GEMM Catalog ID: not yet listed

Price: $80.00


Hum, now here's an interesting one - an Israeli group recording for an American label's English subsidiary ... In recent years this one's generated increasing critical acclaim throughout the collecting community (perhaps due in part to the fact its relatively scarce). That acclaim aside, we'll be honest and admit it took a couple of spins for the LP to grow on us.

First the biographical background. Jericho evolved out of Jericho Jones, which evolved out of The Churchills. Though 99.9% of us have never heard of The Churchills, they were of Israel's best late'60s psychedelic bands (geez, wonder how many competitors there could have been in such a small country). Their self-titled 1968 album actually attracted some international attention, leading the group to relocate to England in hopes of wider recognition. In England they mutated into Jericho Jones, releasing one critically acclaimed, but poor selling album (1971's "Junkies, Monkey & Donkeys").

Shortening their name to Jerocho, the quintet's self-titled 1972 follow-on teamed them with producer Ellis Elias. Interestingly, various reviews we've seen paint "Jericho" as being a breakthrough progressive effort. While there are some progressive influences (check out the extended "Justin and Nova" which actually sounds like it served as an inspiration for half of the Alan Parsons Project catalog), based on tracks such as the blazing leadoff "Ethiopia" and awe-inspiring "Featherbed" (be sure to listen to this one with headphones), we'd describe the set as classy UK-influenced hard rock. Propelled by Shoshan's piercing voice and Romano's stinging lead guitar, material such as "Don't You Let Me Down" brought together a very attractive blend of muscle and melody. Maybe a little short of the classic status attributed by critics and high priced collector's selling lists, but head and shoulders above your standard metal band !!!

"Jericho" track listing:
1.) Ethiopia (Robb Huxley - Danny Shoshan) - 
2.) Don't You Let Me Down (Michael Gabriellov) -
3.) Featherbed (Robb Huxley - Danny Shoshan) - 
4.) Justin and Nova (Robb Huxley) - 
5.) Kill Me with Your Love (Robb Huxley - Danny Shoshan) - 



Back to Bad Cat homepage/search