Johnson and Stubblefield

Band members               Related acts

- Doug Harvey -- guitar

- Brewster Hubbard -- mandolin

- Charlie Johnson -- vocals, guitar, woodwind, brass, drums

- Rick Rickmeyer -- pedal steel guitar

- Bill Stubblefield -- keyboards, guitar, bass, synthesizers

- David Wells -- banjo




- none known




Genre: country-rock

Rating: *** (3 stars)

Title:  Driftwood

Company: Good Sense

Catalog: --

Year: 1982

Country/State: Virginia

Grade (cover/record): VG+ / VG+

Comments: was sealed; opened and played once

Available: 1

GEMM Catalog ID: 5089

Price: $50.00


Given these guys were from Lynchburg, Virginia you'd think I'd know something about them (after all I  live in Northern Virginia).  Unfortunately, I don't and as far as I can tell, there isn't any biographical information to be found on them anywhere on the web.


So what can I tell you 'bout this duo?  Released by the small Lynchburg-based Good Sense Records, their self-produced 1982 LP "Driftwood" appears to have been a homegrown vanity project.  With singer/multi-instrumentalist Charlie Johnson responsible for most of the  13 tracks, the majority of the set had a modest country-rock flavor to it.  Tracks such as 'Wine Wine' and 'Don't Stay the Night' were all rather commercial, sporting nice melodies and some good harmony work between Johnson and guitarist/multi-instrumentalist Bill Stubblefield.  While nothing here really jumped out at you, the only real missteps were the couple of straight forward country numbers - notably the redneckish 'Another Empty Bottle' and Stubblefield's 'You Just Knocked Me Up Against the Wall Again'.  Imagine something out of the later stage Brewer and Shipley catalog and you'll be on the right track. 


"Driftwood" track listing:

(side 1)

1.) Chicks (instrumental)  (Charlie Johnson - Bill Stubblefield) - 

2.) Wine Wine  (Charlie Johnson) -  

3.) Devil and the Deep Blue Sea  (Charlie Johnson) - 

4.) Wonderment  (Charlie Johnson) - 

5.) Don't Stay the Night  (Charlie Johnson) - 

6.) Wasted Tune  (Charlie Johnson) - 

7.) Another Empty Bottle (Charlie Johnson) - 


(side 2)

1.) You Just Knocked Me Up Against the Wall Again (Bill Stubblefield) - 

2.) Land of the Neon Sun   (Charlie Johnson) - 

3.) Beggin' for Your Grace   (Charlie Johnson) - 

4.) Age of the Stone   (Charlie Johnson) - 

5.) Driftwood   (Charlie Johnson) - 

6.) Chicks (instrumental)  (Charlie Johnson - Bill Stubblefield) - 



Back to Bad Cat search

Want to buy this LP from BadCat Records - click here