Joseph, Ernie

Band members               Related acts

- Cory Colt - rhythm guitar, keyboards

- Brian Faith - drums, bass

- Ernie Joseph (aka Ernie Orosco) - vocals, guitar



Big Brother 

- A Giant Crab Comes Forth





Genre: pop

Rating: ** (2 stars)

Title:  An All American Emperor

Company: Akarma

Catalog: AK 042

Year: 19??

Country/State: California

Grade (cover/record): NM/NM

Comments: was sealed; still in shrink wrap

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4953

Price: $25.00

Cost: $66.00


Singer/guitarist Ernie Joseph's recording career includes stints with A Giant Crab Comes Forth and Big Brother (featuring Ernie Joseph) (not to be confused with the Janis Joplin outfit).  As such I'm not sure where in his recording chronology this material fits in, though it seems to be composed of mid-career unreleased material.


To be honest "An All American Emperor" came as somewhat of a surprise to me.  Judging by the cover I was expecting to hear a set of guitar powered rock similar to Joseph's Big Brother catalog.  Instead material such as 'You Let Me Live', 'I Guess I Never Knew You' and 'I Can't Help Being Yours' features a much lighter and top-40 oriented commercial sound.  Offering fair warning to all potential buyers, heavily orchestrated tracks such as 'Cleo' and 'Welcome To the World' have more in common with Mark Lindsey (perhaps even Gary Lewis) than a rock band.  That's not meant as a criticism since 'Mary Jane' and 'What Became of Yesterday's Hero' stand as first rate pop.  If I'd bought this knowing it was a pop album I probably would have given it an added star.  Just don't buy this expecting to hear hard rock or something psychedelic.

"An All American Emperor" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) You Let Me Live   (Scott English - S. Trimachi) - 2:20

2.) Mary Jane   (Scott English - M. Barkan) - 2:53

3.) I Guess I Never Knew You   (Scott English - K. Young) - 2:16

4). Popcorn Double Feature   (Scott English - L. Weiss) - 2:24

5.) Who Can Teach a Song Bird How To Sing   (Scott English - Claus Ogerman - Graham Nash) - 2:24


(side 2)
1.) I Can't Help Being Yours   (Scott English - Dennis Lambert) - 3:27

2.) Cleo   (M. Siegel) - 2:46

3.) Welcome To the World   (Scott English - M. Siegel) - 2:06

4.) What Became of Yesterday's Hero   (Scott English - S. Schlaks) - 2:28

5.) I Can See Love   (Scott English - L. Weiss) - 3:12

6.) You Walked Into My Life - :53




Back to Bad Cat homepage/search