Josie & the Pussycats

Band members                              Related acts

  line up 1 (1970)

- Cherie Moor (aka Cheryl Ann Stepplemoor, aka  Cheryl Ladd) --


- Cathy Dougher -- vocals

- Patricia Holloway (aka Patrice Holloway) (RIP 2006)  -- vocals



- The Brothers and Sisters of L.A. (Patrice Holloway)

- The Four J's (Patrice Holloway)

- Patrice Holloway (solo efforts)

- Cheryl Ladd (solo efforts)

- The Watsians (Patrice Holloway)





Genre: pop

Rating: **** (4 stars)

Title:  Josie & the Pussycats

Company: Capitol

Catalog: ST-665

Year: 1970

Country/State: US

Grade (cover/record): VG+/VG+

Comments: cut out hole top right corner

Available: SOLD

Catalog ID: SOLD 4741

Price: SOLD $150.00

Cost: $66.00


If you're reading this you already know the background to this one - Josie & the Pussycats were a ground breaking female and multi-cultural spin off from the Archie cartoon series.  It turns out that to legions of young boys Valerie Brown (tambourine, bass), Josie McCoy (guitar), and Melody Valentine (drums)  were far more interesting and easier on the eyes (both in the cartoon and real life format) than Archie and his social circle.  That may have had something to do with the fact their uniforms were quite revealing and included tails


Working for William Hanna and Joseph Barbera and cartoon creator Dan DeCarlo, producer/writer David Janssen was the brainchild behind the musical side of this famous act.  With Hanna-Barbera interested in repeating the success they'd enjoyed with The Archies, Janssen auditioned and selected all three Pussycats - Cherie 'Melody' Moor (aka Cheryl Ladd), Cathy 'Josie' Dougher and Patricia 'Valerie' Holloway.  He also deserves special credit for insisting on hiring Holloway (Brenda Holloway's younger sister) in the face of corporate concerns over hiring an African American to play what was a black cartoon character ...  amazing how times have changed.


Co-produced by Janssen and Bobby Young and backed by an all-star band of sessions players, 1970's cleverly titled "Josie & the Pussycats" may be the holy grail of bubblegum pop.  Its physical rarity is compounded by the fact that the resulting album features a great collection of soul and pop material.  All three members were surprisingly good singers, with Holloway deserving special notice.  Her voice may not have been as classy as her sister's, but she more than made up for it with her soul moves on stuff like 'Hand Clapping Song'.  Largely penned by Janssen, material such as 'Stop, Look and Listen', 'You've Come A Long Way Baby' and 'Roadrunner' was exceptionally commercial, recalling a cross between The Jackson Five and Honey Comb.  In fact the only minor disappointments were a couple of bland pop covers (Bread, Carpenters, The Jackson Five, etc.).  Elsewhere Capitol plucked a pair of unsuccessful singles from the album:


- 1970's 'Every Beat of My Heart' b/w 'It's Alright with Me' (Capitol catalog number 2967)

- 1971's 'You've Come A Long Way Baby' b/w 'Stop, Look and Listen' (Capitol catalog number 3045)      

"Josie and the Pussycats" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Every Beat of My Heart   (Danny Janssen - Bobby Hart) - 2:18

2.) La, La, La (If I Had You)  (Danny Janssen) - 2:53

3.) Stop, Look and Listen  (Danny Janssen - S. Steward) - 2:07

4.) Hand Clapping Song  (Danny Janssen - J. Kirkland) - 1:50

5.) I'll Be There   (Berry Gordy Jr. - West - Hutch - Davis) - 3:03


(side 2)
1.) You've Come A Long Way Baby  (Danny Janssen - Bobby Hart) - 2:07

2.) (They Long To Be) Close To You   (Burt Bacharach - Hal David) - 2:56

3.) Roadrunner  (Danny Janssen - S. Steward) - 1:57

4.) Lie, Lie, Lie   (Danny Jannsen - Austin Roberts) - 1:54

5.) It Don't Matter To Me   (David Gates) - 2:31


In an early cross-marketing move Hanna-Barbera cut a deal with Kellogg that saw a series of four non-LP promo 45s issued as mail away offers on select boxes of Kellogg's cereal:


- 'A Letter To Mama' b/w 'Inside, Outside, Upside Down' (Capitol catalog number # CP-58-1)

- Josie & the Pussycats' b/w 'With Every Beat of My Heart (Capitol catalog number # CP-59-2)

- 'Voodoo' b/w ''If That Isn't Love (Capitol catalog number # CP-60-3

- 'I Wanna Make You Happy' b/w 'It's Gotta Be Him' (Capitol catalog number # CP-61-4)