Katch 22

Band members                              Related acts

- Paul Bonner -- vocals (1967-69)

- Martin Wayne -- vocals (1967-69)




- none known




Genre: pop

Rating: 3 stars ***

Title:  It's Soft Rock & All Sorts

Company: Saga

Catalog: EROS 8047

Year: 1968

Country/State: UK

Grade (cover/record): VG+/VG+

Comments: original inner sleeve

Available: 1

Catalog ID: 5217

Price: $75.00


To be honest I don't know if these guys were a real band, or simply a studio entity meant to generate some quick cash for their label.


Singers/songwriters Paul Bonner and Martin Wayne were apparently the group mainstays and from some online references it appears these guys started their recording career in 1967.


Signed by Fontana, over a three year period  they managed to release a string five singles:


- 1967's 'Major Catastrophe' b/w 'Hold Me' (Fontana catalog number TF 768

- 1968's 'Makin' Up My Mind' b/w 'While We're Friends' (Fontana catalog number TF 874)

- 1968's 'The World's Getting Smaller' b/w 'Don't Bother' (Fontana catalog number F 930)

- 1968's '100,000 Years' b/w 'Pumpkin Mini' (Fontana catalog number TF 984)

- 1969's 'Out of My Life' b/w 'Baby Love' (Fontana catalog number TF 1005)


In an odd marketing move, 1968 also saw the band released their first and only album - "It's Soft Rock & All Sorts."  Released by the budget Saga label, the album featured a mixture of popular pop covers and upbeat Bonner-Wayne penned originals. Curiously, while normal marketing technique would have seen their earlier 45s repackage, their album featured all new material.   Exemplified by material like 'Walk Away Renee', 'There Ain't No Use In Hanging On' and '' the collection featured pure, harmony rich sunshine pop.  The performances were actually quite good, though their extremely commercial sound of tracks like 'Groovy Summertime and 'Wishing' must have already sounded somewhat dated when released (definitely more 1966 than 1968).  There were several highlights; notably an unexpected Buffalo Springfield cover 'Go and Say Goodbye' and Bonner - Wayne originals like 'Don't Listen' and 'Thoughts On a Rainy Day'.  In typical Saga fashion the album packaging carried little information - no performance or production credits so you don't even know who the other two members were.  (Great goofy album cover art ...)  


"It's Soft Rock & All Sorts" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Walk Away Renee   (Brown - Sansome - Calilli) - 

2.) There Ain't No Use In Hanging On   (McAleese - Campbell) - 

3.) Seldom   (Aw) - 

4.) Groovy Summertime   (Colley - Bahler) - 

5.) Don't Listen   (Paul Bonner - Martin Wayne) - 

6.) 59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin' Groovy)   (Paul Simon) - 


(side 2)
1.) Windy   (Friedmann) - 

2.) Open Up Your Eyes   (Paul Bonner - Martin Wayne) - 

3.) Thoughts On a Rainy Day   (Paul Bonner - Martin Wayne) - 

4,) Go and Say Goodbye   (Stephen Stills) - 

5.) You've Got Somethin'   (Aw) - 

6.) Wishing   (Eastman - Martin Wayne) - 


One final non-LP singer for CBS and they were history: 'Missus Jones' b/w 'It's the Sunshine' (CBS catalog number 4644).  Bonner and Wayne subsequently reappeared as members of Paintbox.


re Katch 22, you seem to have some wrong information, I was the founder member of Katch 22, Martin Wayne left the band on 11th April 1969.  Martin Wayne was never in Paintbox, the members were, Mike Eastman, Paul Bonner, Keith Wilford ( who replaced Wayne in 1969 ). For more info we have a website http://www.katch22sixtiesband.webs.com
Please would you amend your website accordingly.
Kind Regards,
Mike Eastman.
" Katch 22 "
See also:- 'Major Catastrophe, The Katch 22 Story 1966-1969' on Cherry Red/RPM records number :- retro893