Kossoff, Kirke, Tetsu and Rabbit

Band members                              Related acts

  line up 1 (1971)

- Rabbit Bundrick -- vocals, keyboards 
- Simon Kirke -- vocals, drums, percussion
- Paul Kossoff (RIP 1976) -- lead guitar, vocals
- Tetsu Yamauchi -- bass


- Amazing Blondel (Paul Kossoff)
- Back Street Crawler (Paul Kossoff)
- Bad Company (Simon Kirke)
- Rabbit Bundrick (solo efforts)
- Crawler (Rabbit Bundrick)
- Faces (Tetsu Yamauchi)
- Free (Paul Kossoff, Simon Kirke and Tetsu Yamauchi)
- Paul Kossoff (solo effort)



Genre: rock

Rating: *** (3 stars)

Title:  Kossoff Kirke Tetsu Rabbit

Company: Island

Catalog: SMAS-9320

Year: 1971

Country/State: UK/US

Grade (cover/record): VG+/VG+

Comments: gatefold sleeve; cutout hole top right corner

Available: 1

Catalog ID: 4872

Price: $32.00


In spite of massive commercial acceptance, amidst personality conflicts Free splintered in the wake of the release of 1970's "Highway".  With front man Paul Rodgers forming the short-lived Peace and bassist Andy Fraser establishing the equally brief Toby, lead guitarist Paul Kossoff and drummer Simon Kirke decided to continue their musical collaboration, promptly recruiting Japanese bassist Tetsu Yamauchi and American sessions keyboard player Rabbit Bundrick. 

Signed by A&M (coincidently Free's label), the quartet debuted with the 1971's self-produced "Kossoff Kirke Tetsu Rabbit".  Propelled by Kossoff's lyrical guitar most folks probably wouldn't be surprised to learn that blues-rock numbers such as 'Blue Grass' and 'Fool's Life' bore more than a slight resemblance to something out of the Free catalog.  To be honest, with Bundrick responsible for most of the material the sound wasn't an exact match for Free (as an example Free never turned in something with the Gospel edge displayed by Bundrick's 'Sammy's Alright' - dedicated to his brother).  Elsewhere compared to Free's highly structured catalog, material like the instrumental 'Just for the Box' and country-ish 'I'm On the Run' found Kossoff and company sounding almost relieved to get the opportunity to stretch out and display their chops in a suitably low-keyed environment.  To my ears set highlights include 'Blues Grass' and the closer 'Colours'.  With the album doing little, a reunion of the original Free lineup quickly collapsed with Yamauchi and Bundrick quickly being ushered in for the Free MK 2 lineup.

"Kossoff Kirke Tetsu Rabbit" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Blue Grass   (Rabbit Bundrick) - 5:21
2.) Sammy's Alright   (Rabbit Bundrick) - 4:05
3.) Anna   (Simon Kirke) - 3:39
4.) Just for the Box (instrumental)  (Paul Kossoff) - 3:30
5.) Hold On   (Simon Kirke - Paul Kossoff) - 5:21

(side 1)

1.) Fool's Life   (Rabbit Bundrick) - 4:27
2.) Yellow House   (Rabbit Bundrick) - 3:23
3.) Dying Fire   (Simon Kirke) - 4:29
4.) I'm on the Run   (Rabbit Bundrick) - 4:33
5.) Colours   (Burgess - Paul Kossoff) - 4:46