Lee, Arthur

Band members                             Related acts

- Arthur Lee -- vocals, guitar


  backing musicians:

- Frank Fayad -- bass 
- Dakota Dave Hull -- guitar 
- Charles Karp -- guitar 
- Clarence McDonald -- keyboards 
- Don Poncher -- drums 
- Craig Tarwater -- guitar 




- The American Four
- Arthur Lee and the L.A.G.'s
- Love
- Ronnie and the Pomona Casuals



Genre: rock

Rating: *** (3 stars)

Title:  Vindicator

Company: A&M


Year: 1972

Country/State: California

Grade (cover/record): VG+/VG+

Comments: gatefold sleeve

Available: SOLD

Catalog ID: SOLD

Price: SOLD


Having recorded six albums in six years with Love (see separate entry), in 1972 a thoroughly frustrated Arthur Lee disbanded the group and struck out in pursuit of an abbreviated solo career. 

Released by A&M, 1972's self-produced "Vindicator" found Lee working with the group Band-Aid. Highlighting Lee's pleasant voice and a mixture of conventional rockers and pseudo-psychedelics, the set was thoroughly professional, if seldom up to the standard of his Love catalog. Material such as the single 'Sad Song', 'Love Jumped Through My Window' and 'Find Somebody' simply lacked the spark that made Love's earlier albums so appealing. Kind of weird, but when I played the album for a friend they thought it was Bob Seger (Lee's new found growl actually did sound like Seger on a couple of tracks). Personal favorites were the Hendrix-styled 'Every Time I Look Up I'm Down or White Dog (I Don't Know What That Means!)' and 'Busted Feet'.  Naturally the album sank without a trace.  As a Love fan,  I'll also tell you that the set tends to grow on you the more you play it.

"Vindicator" track listing:

(side 1)
1.) Sad Song (Arthur Lee) - 2:19
2.) You Can Save up to 50% But You're Still A Long Ways from Home (Arthur Lee) - 0:17
3.) Love Jumped Through My Window (Arthur Lee) - 2:15
4.) Find Somebody (Arthur Lee) - 3:44
5.) He Said She Said (Arthur Lee) - 2:15
6.) Every Time I Look Up I'm Down or White Dog (I Don't Know What That Means!) (Arthur Lee) - 3:54


(side 2)
1.) Everybody Gotta Live (Arthur Lee) - 3:29
2.) You Want Change for Your Re-Run (Arthur Lee) - 4:14
3.) He Knows a Lot of Good Women (or Scotty's Song) (Arthur Lee) - 3:13
4.) Hamburger Breath Stinkfinger (Arthur Lee) - 2:44
5.) Ol' Morgue Mouth (Arthur Lee) - 0:56
6.) Busted Feet (Arthur Lee) - 5:01



Back to Bad Cat search

Want to buy this LP from BadCat Records - click here