Let's Active

Band members               Related acts

- Angie Carlson - guitar, keyboards (1984-88)

- Mitch Easter - vocals, guitar (1981-88)

- John Heames - bass (replaced Faye Hunter) (1988)

- Faye Hunter - bass, backing vocals (1981-84, 1986)

- Rob Ladd - drums (1984-88)

- Eric Marshalll - drums (1984-88)

- Sara Romweber - drums, backing vocals (1981-84)




- Snatches of Pink (Sara Romweber)





Genre: rock

Rating: **** (4 stars)

Title:  afoot

Company: IRS

Catalog: SP-70503

Year: 1983

Country/State: Winston-Salem, North Carolina

Grade (cover/record): VG/VG

Comments: small crease lower right corner

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4407

Price: $10.00

Cost: $66.00


Today Mitch Easter's mostly known for his work as a producer.  Lost is the fact that as a member of Let's Active he recorded some of the early-1980s' most interesting jangle rock.


Having briefly recorded with Chris Stamey in The Sneakers, 1981 found Easter setting up his own recording studio in Winston-Salem, North Carlonia (Drive In Studios) and forming Let's Active with bassist Faye Hunter and drummer Sara Romweber (sister of Flat Duo Jet's Dexter Romweber).  Signed by Miles Copeland's newly formed IRS Records, the trio made their debut with 1983's "afoot".  With Easter credited with producing, writing all six tracks and handling most of the vocals, the  EP might as well have been an Easter solo effort.  Musically the set's an engaging mix of jangle guitar rockers, top-40 pop and new wave edginess.  That may not sound particularly promising, but on material such as 'Every Word Means No', 'Make Up with Me' and 'Leader of Men' (the latter complete with meltdown guitar solo),  the results are near magical.


"afoot" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Every Word Means No  (Mitch Easter) - 

2.) Make Up with Me  (Mitch Easter) - 

3.) Edge of the World  (Mitch Easter) - 


(side 2)

1.) Room with a View  (Mitch Easter) - 

2.) In Between  (Mitch Easter) - 

3.) Leader of Men  (Mitch Easter) - 





Genre: rock

Rating: *** (3 stars)

Title:  Every Dog Has His Day

Company: IRS

Catalog: 22151-1

Year: 1988

Country/State: Winston-Salem, North Carolina

Grade (cover/record): VG+/VG+

Comments: --

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4659

Price: $10.00

Cost: $66.00


Introducing new bass player John Heames, 1988's "Ever Dog Has His Day" found the band working with producer John Leckie (Mitch Easter co-produced).  With Easter again responsible for all the material (two tracks were co-written by guitarist Angie Carlson), this one comes off as the group's 'heavy mental' album.  Mind you the overarching sound isn't a major change from earlier releases, but material such as the title track and 'Sweepstakes Winner' sound like Easter and company were clearly trying to toughen up their attack.  To my ears the band's combination of low tech vocals (particularly Carlson's performances), jangle pop, rock moves and typically obscure lyrics is nothing short of wonderful.  Doubt it?  Check out the ripping guitar solos on 'Mr. Fool'. 


"Every Dog Has His Day" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Every Dog Has His Day   (Mitch Easter) - 4:28

2.) Horizon   (Angie Carlson - Mitch Easter) - 4:30

3.) Sweepstakes Winner   (Mitch Easter) - 2:54

4.) Orpheus In Hades Lounge (instrumental)   (Mitch Easter) - 1:46

5.) Mr. Fool   (Mitch Easter) - 2:55

6.) Ten Layers Down   (Mitch Easter) - 3:31


(side 2)

1.) Too Bad   (Mitch Easter) - 2:52

2.) Night Train   (Mitch Easter) - 3:26

3.) Forty Years   (Angie Carlson - Mitch Easter) - 3:42

4.) Bad Machinery   (Mitch Easter) - 3:35

5.) I Feel Funny   (Angie Carlson - Mitch Easter) - 3:26

6.) Terminate   (Mitch Easter) - 3:06



Back to Bad Cat homepage/search