Lofgren, Nils

Band members               Related acts

- Jeffrey Baxter - guitar, synthesizer

- Chuck Findley - trumpet 

- Ed Greene - drums

- Ritchie Hayward - drums

- Nicky Hopkins - keyboards

- David Hungate - bass
- Neil Jason - bass

- Nils Lofgren - vocals, guitar, accordion, keyboards

- Greg Mathieson - keyboards 

- Jerry Peterson - saxophone 

- Jeff Porcaro - drums

- Elliott Randall - electric guitar

- Del Shannon - backing vocals 
- Neil Stubenhaus - bass

- Trevor Veitch - acoustic guitar


- Dolphin

- Grin

- Bruce Springsteen





Genre: rock

Rating: ** (2 stars)

Title:  Night Fades Away

Company: Backstreet

Catalog: BSR-5251

Year: 1981

Country/State: US

Grade (cover/record): VG+/VG+

Comments: still in shrink wrap (opened)

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4

Price: $5.00

Cost: $66.00


Funny, but the first time I heard this album I thought I was listening to something by Leo Sayer ...  not necessarily a good thing.


Produced by Jeff 'Skunk' Baxter (with help from an impressive all star cast of studio pros), 1981's "Night Fades Away" found singer/guitarist Nils Lofgren on yet another label (this time MCA's Backstreet subsidiary).  Apparently intended as Lofgren's long anticipated commercial breakthrough, much of the album features a top-40 styled commercial sheen.  There's certainly nothing wrong with material such as ''Don't Touch Me, 'Dirty Money' and 'I Go To Pieces' (okay the latter cover of the Del Shannon classic with backing vocals from the man himself is exceptionally lame), but by the same token there isn't much to really impress you with. At least to my ears the best track here is a throwaway cover of The Beatles' 'Anytime At All'.    Call it a good idea that somehow didn't come to fruition and move on ...  (Lookin' a little scruffy on the front and back covers guy ...)


"Night Fades Away" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Night Fades Away   (Nils Lofgren) - 4:23

2.) I Go To Pieces   (Del Shannon) - 2:52

3.) Empty Heart   (Nils Lofgren) - 4:37

4.) Don't Touch Me   (Nils Lofgren) - 3:51

5.) Dirty Money   (Nils Lofgren) - 3:57


(side 2)

1.) Sailor Boy   (Nils Lofgren) - 3:53

2.) Anytime At All  (John Lennon - Paul McCartney) - 2:51

3.) Ancient History   (Nils Lofgren) - 4:49

4.) Streets Again   (Nils Lofgren - Jeff Baxter) - 3:59

5.) In Motions   (Nils Lofgren - Jeff Baxter) - 3:17


Elsewhere 'Night Fades Away' b/w 'ANytime At All' was released as a single (Backstreet catalog number BSR-51191). 


Back to Bad Cat homepage/search