Lynott, Phil

Band members                         Related acts

- Phil Lynott (RIP 1986) -- vocals, bass, synthesizers, drum machines,

  harp, keyboards, percussion


  backing musicians: (1982)

- Jimmy Bain -- bass, backing vocals

- Bobbye Benberg -- drums

- Mel Collins -- sax

- Brian Downey -- drums

- Rusty Egan -- drums

- Scott Gorham -- bass

- Gordon Johnson -- voice

- Mark Knopfler -- guitar

- Huey Lewis -- harmonica

- Monica Lynott -- backing vocals

- Suzanne Machou -- voice

- Pierre Moerlen -- drums

- Mark Nauseef -- drums, percussion

- Jerome Rimson -- bass

- Midge Ure -- guitar, keyboards, drum machine

- Darren Wharton -- keyboards, drum machine




- Skid Row

- Thin Lizzy





Genre: rock

Rating: 2 stars **

Title:  The Phil Lynott Album

Company: Warner Brothers

Catalog: 1-23745
Year: 1982

Country/State: Birmingham, UK

Grade (cover/record): VG / VG+

Comments: cut top right corner; still in shrink wrap (opened)

Available: 1

Catalog ID: 6253

Price: $12.00


I liked Phil Lynott's first solo album quite a bit and still put it on the turntable from time to time (yes I'm dating myself here),  In contrast, Lynott's sophomore solo venture, 1982's cleverly-titled "The Phil Lynott Album" took me awhile to warm up to.  To be honest, it's kind of hard to explain the difference since musically the two collections weren't radically different, but the second set just lacked the energy and charisma of the debut.  


Co-produced by Lynott and Kit Woolven, the album was clearly intended to draw a line between Lynott's Thin Lizzy persona and his solo career (in spite of the fact Thin Lizzy's Scott Gorham and Brian Downey were featured on a couple of tracks).  Unfortunately Lynott's voice was so unique that (at least for me) it simply wasn't possible to separate the two.  As a result, I found myself constantly comparing these eleven tracks to his Thin Lizzy catalog.  That was a mixed blessing.  A quick look at the performance credits showed these tracks were recorded with an ever changing line up of friends and admirers, including Mark Knopfler, Huey Lewis (?), and Midge Ure.  Unfortunately judging by tracks like 'Fatalistic Attitude' and 'Gino', Lynott frequently seemed lost without his Thin Lizzy cohorts.  His willingness to try out new genres was nice, but one suspects a bit of wise advice from his band mates would have seen some of these tracks relegated to the shelf.  The bottom line was that nothing here matched the best of Thin Lizzy's rollicking pop-rock efforts.  On the other hand the album offered up a far more varied sound than your standard Thin Lizzy collection.  Note I said varied, not necessarily good, or enjoyable.


- 'Fatalistic Attitude' opened up with an odd snippet of Christian radio airplay before Lynott's instantly recognizable voice kicked in on what was a patented slice of melancholy social commentary.  Actually, the lyric was downright dark and depressing - another junkie calls it quits ... There wasn't a great deal to the song itself;  Lynott backed by what sounded like programmed drums and some cheesy synthesizers.  That gave the song a very dated '80s feel.   rating: ** stars

- Hum, disco-tinged horns and Atari space invader sound effects ...   yeah, this was a track you probably wouldn't have heard on a Thin Lizzy album.  I'm guessing this was intended as some sort of slam again an early-1980s politician ...  Ronald Regan ?  Who knows, who cares ...    rating: ** stars

- The weird accented spoken word intro has always thrown me, but when 'Old Town' actually kicked in     it proved to be one of the album highlights.  The song had a wonderful keyboard-propelled melody (and some Baroque horn charts) that had top 40 written all over it without the usual Thin Lizzy 'tough boy' edge.    rating: **** stars

- 'Maybe it was just my ears, but on the ballad 'Cathleen' Lynott sounded like he was singing with a pronounced head cold.  Considering it was inspired by his second daughter, the song wasn't particularly memorable..    rating: ** stars

- For a guy with more than his share of personal demons, I've always been surprised by Lynott's softer side.  The pretty ballad 'Growing Up' was a perfect example of that overlooked trait.  Another catchy and thought provoking song (at least if you have young kids), this one had plenty of commercial appeal, including one of Mel Collins' nicest sax solos.    rating: **** stars

- I'm not sure what the purpose of the 'Yellow Pearl' pearl remake was.  I didn't find the updated, synthesizer dense version any better than the version found on Lynott's "Solo In Soho" album.  In fact, the effects laden vocals were a major source of irritating - imagine being stuck with the Tron soundtrack rattling around in your head.  Shows what I know since the song provided Lynott with a European hit.   rating: ** stars

- I guess you had to admire Lynott for being willing to dip is creative toe into different genres.  On the other hand, you'd think he would have figured out that jittery new-wave stuff like 'Together' probably wasn't a good fit for his talents.   rating: ** stars

- Lyrically 'A Little Bit of Water' didn't have much going for it, but it had a breezy pop melody with an interesting instrumental lineup including harp and island percussion.    rating: ** stars

- Hum, how'd a Dire Straits song get on this album ?   Kicked along by Mark Knopfler's instantly recognizable guitar, 'Ode To Liberty (The Protest Song)' found Lynott pulling out his best Knopfler impersonation.  It was actually a pretty good take on Knopfler's growl of a voice, though the song was thoroughly dull and forgettable ...   Why would you want to head Lynott sound like Knopfler when you could easily hear Knopfler sounding like Knopfler.   rating: ** stars

- 'Gino' found Lynott returning to sound collages in the form of interspersing what sounded like religious sermons with a mildly funky song structure.  I'll readily admit the theme, or plotline was completely lost to my sensibilities.    rating: ** stars

- Sporting another synthesizer-heavy melody and some of the dumbest lyrics you've heard in awhile (with a knowing nod to The Sweet), 'Don't Talk About My Baby' was mindless fun.      rating: *** stars


Only hardcore Lynott or Thin Lizzy fans need invest their hard earned disposable income ...


"The Phil Lynott Album" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Fatalistic Attitude   (Phil Lynott) - 4:31

2.) The Man's a Fool   (Phil Lynott) - 2:58

3.) Old Town   (Phil Lynott - J. Bain) - 3:27

4.) Cathleen   (Phil Lynott) - 3:34

5.) Growing Up   (Phil Lynott) - 5:00

6.) Yellow Pearl   (Phil Lynott - Midge Ure) - 2:58


(side 2)
1.) Together   (Phil Lynott) - 3:39

2.) A Little Bit of Water   (Phil Lynott) - 3:35

3.) Ode To Liberty (The Protest Song)   (Phil Lynott - J. Bain) - 5:48

4.) Gino   (Phil Lynott) - 4:10

5.) Don't Talk About My Baby   (Phil Lynott) - 4"30